nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Doom3 (oldie!) monitor problems (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=197219)

xps8700 11-19-12 07:47 PM

Doom3 (oldie!) monitor problems
 
Hi all!

I have installed an Oldie (but goodie) that is Doom 3 on my slackware machine (linux) and while the game seems to be perfectly running, I am experiencing a display problem and I hoped someone here could help me...

basically, I have a dual monitor setup, one monitor that goes up to 1920x1080 (the primary) and another smaller that goes to 1024x768 (secondary).

For whatever reasons, Doom3 uses the smaller monitor and puts the larger monitor at sleep. That is, until I set the resolution larger than what the small monitor can handle, then its the opposite, the game uses the marge monitor and puts to sleep the small one..

Fine, but if I set the resolution to the maximum that Doom3 offers (1600x1200), the game starts windowed and I am missing a large portion of the display. Also, while windowed, if I go in the game options (system), the game reports a display of 1600x1200.

I tried passing seta r_fullscren 1 to the debugger's CLI, and doing a vid_restart, but its not helping...

Anybody knows why its not using the main monitor at 1600x1200 in fullscreen? Or should I rather ask

How can I force the game to use the main monitor at 1600x1200 in fullscreen?

Many thanks!!!!

snowmanwithahat 11-22-12 11:27 AM

Re: Doom3 (oldie!) monitor problems
 
I'd recommend checking out http://www.wsgf.org/

http://www.wsgf.org/dr/doom-3 in particular

They have advice on getting many older and non supported games running in a widescreen format. While that doesn't help you run it at 1600x1200 it should let you run it at 1920x1080 on your main monitor.

Hope it helps!

xps8700 11-24-12 01:40 PM

Re: Doom3 (oldie!) monitor problems
 
Very good link you pointed me out to!!

Ive managed to get the thing running... I was doing a lot of things wrong, such as specifying the wrong resolution and inverting the X & Y resolutions... Not good at all!
;)

THanks for helping out!! I appreciate!

BioHazZarD 11-27-12 05:11 AM

Re: Doom3 (oldie!) monitor problems
 
good now i hope u get scared to death ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.