nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Doom-III just became a Non Issue in the benchmark war? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=19925)

Hellbinder 10-22-03 06:43 PM

Doom-III just became a Non Issue in the benchmark war?
 
Quote:

At a recent NVIDIA Editors' Day, id Software CEO Todd Hollenshed announced that DOOM 3 will be capped to 60 frames per second in the rendering engine.

We checked with John Carmack himself about why DOOM 3 will be hard-capped at 60fps in the renderer, and he had this to say:

"The game tic simulation, including player movement, runs at 60hz, so if it rendered any faster, it would just be rendering identical frames. A fixed tic rate removes issues like Quake 3 had, where some jumps could only be made at certain framerates. In Doom, the same player inputs will produce the same motions, no matter what the framerate is."
http://pc.ign.com/articles/456/456054p1.html?fromint=1

You know i really hope this is True. I am personally really burnt out on id and Epic being the sole determining factor for reviews and buying decision for the last several years. Quake etc.. Being FAR Worse of the Two. It will be a breath of fresh air if the engine internally caps at 60 no matter what. Of course it also pretty much negates the whole Nvidia, ATi cat fight over Drivers, performance etc...

Maybe id just got tired of all the constant industry BS associated with who posts the highest score pissing contests over their engines/Games.

I guess R420/Nv40 will need a different measuring stick. http://instagiber.net/smiliesdotcom/...py/ylsmoke.gif

surfhurleydude 10-22-03 06:58 PM

Or maybe John Carmack will take the cap off for benchmarking purposes only?

ChrisRay 10-22-03 06:59 PM

I'm sure he'll have a benchmark utility with time demos with this does not apply.

The Baron 10-22-03 07:01 PM

PARADIGM SHIFT PART TWO!

Moving away from framerates.

Moving towards IQ.

If NV really does implement that stochastic AA stuff in NV40 without an insane performance hit, and Doom 3 is capped to 60FPS... GAME OVER, MAN, GAME OVER!

ChrisW 10-22-03 07:04 PM

The last I saw, it was capped at 10 fps on ATI cards. :eek:

I agree with the 60 fps though. Anything about 60 fps is most likely a waste anyway. If you are getting more than 60 fps anyway, you should turn on more stuff to increase image quality.

Hellbinder 10-22-03 07:06 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisRay
I'm sure he'll have a benchmark utility with time demos with this does not apply.
Hey Chris, The problem is it wont matter. IF the engine is sampleing everything at 60hz then a benchmark would be completely useless. AS he said even if you bypassed it it would just be rendering the exact same frame over and over, until the next frame is ready

The Driver Cheating possible in something like that could Boggle the Mind.

Hellbinder 10-22-03 07:06 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisW
The last I saw, it was capped at 10 fps on ATI cards. :eek:
This is a joke right? :confused:

ChrisW 10-22-03 07:08 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by Hellbinder
This is a joke right? :confused:
http://www.hardocp.com/images/articl...IMpRcj_1_3.gif

By the way, if it is capped at 60 fps then how did they get 90 fps in the 1024x768 resolution?

Hellbinder 10-22-03 07:09 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by The Baron
PARADIGM SHIFT PART TWO!

Moving away from framerates.

Moving towards IQ.

If NV really does implement that stochastic AA stuff in NV40 without an insane performance hit, and Doom 3 is capped to 60FPS... GAME OVER, MAN, GAME OVER!

Hellbinder <------------ Confused

http://www.gamers-forums.com/smilies...yareontome.gif

Toaster 10-22-03 07:09 PM

Timedemos with uncapped framerates are still possible. So I see no reason why there can't be a benchmark.

[edit] lol, when i opened this thread there where no replies and by the time I did write mine it was a whole lot later

Anyways that bechmarkchart was from an older version, so it might:
A) Not have any fps capping yet
B) It's a timedemo and doesn't need capping

Hellbinder 10-22-03 07:15 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by ChrisW
http://www.hardocp.com/images/articl...IMpRcj_1_3.gif

By the way, if it is capped at 60 fps then how did they get 90 fps in the 1024x768 resolution?

Um.. that was a singular issue with the Cat 3.4's.. there are other sites that show the correct numbers... http://instagiber.net/smiliesdotcom/otn/other/11doh.gif

jimmyjames123 10-22-03 07:15 PM

Weren't people speculating that the top of the line XGI cards would be sweet for Doom 3? Possibly unfortunate for them if they wanted to really show off their card with this game.

With all the eye candy turned on, at high resolutions and with AA/AF enabled, some of today's cards will probably be struggling to reach that framerate. Should be interesting to see how things turn out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.