nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Need info from GeForceFX owners!! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=19975)

XanderF 10-23-03 01:30 PM

Need info from GeForceFX owners!!

Quick question. I'm *considering* a GeForceFX 5700 after these last set of reviews for my wife's PC.

Now, the thing is...I *need* to know if FSAA works in both "The Longest Journey" and "Grim Fandango". I know it does in the GeForce4 Ti series, and I know it does NOT in any ATI card....but I have no knowledge of the FX cards.

Any info would be appreciated!

Rampant CL 10-23-03 01:44 PM

Yes

XanderF 10-23-03 01:49 PM

Pics?

TheTaz 10-23-03 01:55 PM

Re: Need info from GeForceFX owners!!

Quote:

Originally posted by XanderF
Now, the thing is...I *need* to know if FSAA works in both "The Longest Journey" and "Grim Fandango". I know it does in the GeForce4 Ti series, and I know it does NOT in any ATI card....but I have no knowledge of the FX cards.

Any info would be appreciated!

Erm... Grim Fandango isn't "3D Acellerated", as far as I know. Yes, it uses DX Direct Draw, but it's "pre-rendered" stuff "simulating" real-time 3D.

Not sure why FSAA would work on a Geforce 4 and not on a ATi, unless ATi doesn't do FSAA on 2D... which Grim Fandago "technically" is 2D.

Taz

saturnotaku 10-23-03 01:55 PM

Why do you need an FX5700 if you're playing games like TLJ and Grim Fandango? You should be able to run with 4xS AA on your Ti4600 and still get playable framerates. And IIRC Taz is correct in that Grim Fandango technically isn't 3D at all.

XanderF 10-23-03 02:06 PM