nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Nvnet (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=21788)

Spinor 12-03-03 06:40 AM

Nvnet
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi,

Could you help me with my on-board ethernet?
I have MS-6570 Mainboard with NVidia nForce2 chipset ,
AMD Atlon XP 2500+ and Linux Aurox 9.1 , kernel 2.4.20-19.9 .
I installed NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.rh90up_2.4.20_9.athlon.rpm
but my ethernet does not work. I get information that eth0 is inactive.
If I try to activate it I get a message:

nvnet device eth0 does not seem to be present , delaying initialization

How to make my eth0 working???

TheOneKEA 12-03-03 07:14 AM

Wrong file :D

You need to post the output of the command 'dmesg'.

Spinor 12-03-03 08:25 AM

dmesg
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi,
I did not know such command:)
I attached the output of the dmesg command.

TheOneKEA 12-03-03 10:15 AM

Add this line to /etc/modules.conf:

options agpgart try_agp_unsupported=1

Spinor 12-04-03 05:30 PM

:(
 
Hi,

I added this line to /etc/modules.conf but nothing changed. I have also tried to install src file. I used command:

rpm --rebuilddb NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.src.rpm

and got the output

error: db4 error(16) from dbenv->remove: Device or resource busy

...I don't know what to do...:(

TheOneKEA 12-05-03 04:10 AM

Can you get ahold of all of the mesages that are output by the rpm command when rebuilding the RPM?

geowiz 12-05-03 09:06 AM

rpm build
 
If I'm not mistaken, to install the src you should use rpm -ivh kernel_version.src.rpm . It appears that rpm is confused with the --rebuilddb option and then an rpm.

IMO, using the tar.gz file and a manual install for nvnet is solid and works whether there is a compiled version for a kernel or not. None of the other bagage in the nforce package is used and is a short and sweet install.

Make sure the kernel source is installed as per the above discussion.
Then get the NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.tar.gz file.
Extract the source
> tar xvzf NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.tar.gz.
> cd nforce/nvnet
> make clean
> make
> make install
Check that your /etc/modules.conf file has the following entry: alias eth0 nvnet
Check that the module is in the right place by:
> ls /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net/nvnet.o
> insmod nvnet
> lsmod | grep nvnet (to see that module is loaded)
> ifup eth0
> ifconfig -a (check that the network came up)

And if all went well - enjoy.

Then reboot and check that the module gets loaded on boot (lsmod).

Maybe this will be of value ......

Good luck.

Spinor 12-06-03 06:19 AM

rpm
 
hi, I am not sure I understood your question correctly, but the only
output I got by the rpm command was:

error: db4 error(16) from dbenv->remove: Device or resource busy




Quote:

Originally posted by TheOneKEA
Can you get ahold of all of the mesages that are output by the rpm command when rebuilding the RPM?

Spinor 12-06-03 06:41 AM

Re: rpm build
 
Hi, thanks for your message. Unfortunately, I am begginer in Linux and probably I did not understand the first part of you mail.
I found source file on my cd: kernel-2.4.20-19.9.src.rpm (it is a kernel of my aurox system). I copied it on hard disk and tried to install:

rpm -ivh kernel-2.4.20-19.9.src.rpm

I got the output:

error: cannot create %sourcedir /usr/src/redhat/SOURCES

I don't understand what is going on...why can't he create ? i was root.

But maybe i shoul do something else.





Quote:

Originally posted by geowiz
If I'm not mistaken, to install the src you should use rpm -ivh kernel_version.src.rpm . It appears that rpm is confused with the --rebuilddb option and then an rpm.

IMO, using the tar.gz file and a manual install for nvnet is solid and works whether there is a compiled version for a kernel or not. None of the other bagage in the nforce package is used and is a short and sweet install.

Make sure the kernel source is installed as per the above discussion.
Check that the module is in the right place by:
came up)


geowiz 12-06-03 07:44 AM

Directory
 
Well, I'm not sure why it's not there but you can create it (as root) by:
> mkdir /usr/src/redhat/SOURCES

You might also check that /usr/src/redhat also has the following 5 directories
> ls /usr/src/redhat
BUILD RPMS SOURCES SPECS SRPMS

Then give it another go.

Keep plugging at it. It is often frustrating at the beginning but as you pick up knowledge/skills it gets much better and more rewarding. There's more than one way to skin a cat - and in *nix that is REALLY true ;-)

Good luck

Spinor 12-06-03 01:33 PM

rpm
 
hi,
I checked the /etc/src/ directory and I don't have any of the directories you mentioned. I mean there was no redhat directory there.
I created /usr/src/redhat/SOURCES directory and successfully installed kernel-2.4.20-19.9.src.rpm. Then I extracted the source
> tar xvzf NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0261.tar.gz.
> cd nforce/nvnet
> make clean
> make

The last command gave the output:

cc -c -Wall -DLINUX -DMODULE -DEXPORT_SYMTAB -D__KERNEL__ -O -Wstrict-prototypes -DCONFIG_PM -fno-strict-aliasing -mpreferred-stack-boundary=2 -march=i686 -malign-functions=4 -DMODULE -I/lib/modules/2.4.20-19.9/build/include nvnet.c
make: cc: Command not found
make: *** [nvnet.o] Error 127

....hmmmm......:)

geowiz 12-06-03 03:22 PM

cc Not found
 
It looks like you are missing the "development" tools including cc (compiler).

check that you have the compiler installed. either:
> which cc (or which gcc)
or
> rpm -q gcc

If either says it's not there, pull out your installation disk and install them. Since your distribution is based on Red Hat - look in the system tools-> add or remove packages -> development -> development tools amd go from there.

Good luck .


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.