nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Can't start OpenGL (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=22276)

quantaman 12-14-03 02:03 PM

Can't start OpenGL
 
I'm running Fedora Core 1 with the 2129 kernel, I also have a GeForce MX 200.

I've run on RH 7-9 with no problem and just upgraded to Fedora a couple days ago. I had been using the 4363 driver with RH9 and tried using that but got the biuld error, I then grabbed the 4496 driver and had the same problem, I then checked the forum and found out to do the "export CC=/usr/bin/gcc32" first and was able to build the driver.

I than tried playing enemy-territory, everything started fine but the texturing was very messed up, buildings almost never had any texture and the ground would sometimes be normal but often times would be weird swirls (colours also seemed a little off). I couldn't see anything relevent on the forum and saw some stuff about using the RPMs and making sure you had the latest kernel so I ran up2date and got the kernel upgraded oddly when I rebooted with the new kernel XServer started without a hitch, in the past every time I upgrade the kernel I need to reinstall the driver. I can't remember the exact procession of event afterwards but I did try the RPMS but I got the result

error: Failed dependencies:
XFree86-Mesa-libGL conflicts with nvidia-glx-1.0.4496-0.fdr.10.1

and decided i didn't want to mess around with any XFree stuff. I also tried starting without X starting and reinstalling the driver but it didn't help. Also now any OpenGL games don't even start and when I try to start (et for example) I get the result

------- Input Initialization -------
Joystick is not active.
------------------------------------
Bypassing CD checks
----- Client Initialization -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
...loading libGL.so.1: Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 4: 800 600
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
XF86DGA Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
XFree86-VidModeExtension Activated at 800x600
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Couldn't get a visual
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (4)
Initializing OpenGL display
...setting mode 3: 640 480
Using XFree86-VidModeExtension Version 2.2
XF86DGA Mouse (Version 2.0) initialized
XFree86-VidModeExtension Activated at 640x480
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Couldn't get a visual
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
----- CL_Shutdown -----
-----------------------
Sys_Error: GLimp_Init() - could not load OpenGL subsystem

I than tried going back trying combinations of the 4363 driver and the first kernel that came with Fedora but it hasn't made any difference and I still can't start OpenGl. I also have a Hansol 710D monitor which wasn't listed among the monitor types in the display settings so I chose the "Hansol Electronics Mazellan700P" (there was also an A), I don't recall what I had before the upgrade so I don't know if that makes a difference.

thanks for any help you can offer

TheOneKEA 12-14-03 02:22 PM

Go back to the newest drivers and post the output of the command "glxinfo -t".

quantaman 12-14-03 03:23 PM

$ glxinfo -t
name of display: :0.0
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual

Vis Vis Visual Trans buff lev render DB ste r g b a aux dep ste accum buffers MS MS
ID Depth Type parent size el type reo sz sz sz sz buf th ncl r g b a num bufs
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
0x21 24 TrueColor 1 0 0 ci 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
0x22 24 DirectColor 1 0 0 ci 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

LordMorgul 12-14-03 04:06 PM

Choose to either use the nVidia installer, or to use the RPMs. One way or the other, neither is really superior just pick one. In either case, you should remove the package that conflicted in order to smooth this process, note that the files it contains will not be used once the nVidia drivers are installed (even if you leave it there.. so remove it)
rpm -e XFree86-Mesa-libGL

Now, reinstall the drivers by chosen method and try glxinfo again. With no glxinfo, the games have no hope of working. After the driver is installed, did you edit the config file to include glx, exclude dri, and to use the 'nvidia' driver?
edit /etc/X11/XF86Config

quantaman 12-14-03 04:25 PM

XFree86-Mesa0libGL did not want to uninstall

rpm -e XFree86-Mesa-libGL
error: Failed dependencies:
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) qt-devel-3.1.2-14
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) redhat-lsb-1.3-1
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) wxPythonGTK-py2.3-2.4.1.2-1
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) qt-designer-3.1.2-14
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) vegastrike-0.3.1-gcc3.2
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) qt-3.1.2-14
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) qt-MySQL-3.1.2-14
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) wine-20020605-2
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) qt-ODBC-3.1.2-14
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) qt-PostgreSQL-3.1.2-14
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) juk-1.1-1
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) XFree86-libs-4.3.0-42
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) chromium-0.9.12-24
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) tuxracer-0.61-23
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) xawtv-3.88-6
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) XFree86-tools-4.3.0-42
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) xmms-1.2.8-3.p
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) xscreensaver-4.14-2
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) kdeartwork-3.1.4-1
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) PyQt-3.8.1-2
libGL.so.1 is needed by (installed) xtraceroute-0.9.1-3

and I don't think I should force it.

also neither of the rpms were ever installed, they just made error messages so reinstalling wouldn't make any difference. I havn't edited XF86Config but I attached it anyways

quantaman 12-14-03 06:16 PM

1 Attachment(s)
don't see where the log attached, will try again

LordMorgul 12-14-03 07:06 PM

Forcing the removal of Mesa will cause NO problems, provided you get the nVidia libs installed, they fully replace the Mesa implementation and should not be loaded afterward. However, I can understand not wanting to do so. Bear in mind that what the nVidia installer does is to essentially remove Mesa by unlinking all its libs anyway.

You could force the install of the RPMs instead, noting that it will only overwrite the link that is conflicting. Your call.

Code:

Section "Device"

        # no known options
#"nvidia" for NVIDIA driver and "nv" for no NVIDIA driver
#        Driver      "nv"
        #BusID
        Identifier  "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
        Driver      "nv"
        VendorName  "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
        BoardName  "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
EndSection

You may have just returned this to defaults, but it should read:
Code:

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        VendorName  "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
        BoardName  "NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX (generic)"
EndSection


quantaman 12-14-03 09:57 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Changing the nv to nvidia allowed the driver to start, I think I may of fiddled with that setting back around RH 7.3 but I don't think I've touched it since. Either way the server now starts but I'm back to the original problem of textures missing . I've tried enemy-territory and the return to castle wolfenstien single player demo. The sp demo worked fine, but enemy-territory has sections of texture missing all over the place. I've tried using startx -- -logverbose 5 to provide more info though I'm not sure where it puts the log, I'm assuming it's in /var/log/XFree86.0.log which is why I'm attaching it.

btw thanks for all the help just getting OpenGL launching

Wolfman [TWP] 12-14-03 10:17 PM

I would try to reduce your screen resolution down to 1024x768 or lower. As 1280x1024x24 practically uses up all of the 32MB's of video memory, and not leaving much behind for texture memory. Which could be the reason for your texture problems.

Wolf

quantaman 12-15-03 02:27 PM

When I run et my resolution is 800x600 and the rest of the settings are pretty low too (have kind of an old card)

Wolfman [TWP] 12-15-03 08:18 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by quantaman
When I run et my resolution is 800x600 and the rest of the settings are pretty low too (have kind of an old card)
Yes but, do you still get the texture artifacts at this resolution??

Wolf

quantaman 12-16-03 02:08 AM

yes


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.