nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0269 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=22350)

blueworm 12-16-03 02:22 PM

NVIDIA_nforce-1.0-0269
 
ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/nforce/

tourettes 12-16-03 05:59 PM

I was so happy when I seen this, I was hoping my audio problem was fixed. It seems that it *may* be fixed, but I can't tell.

Before on the older drivers, i would insert the nvaudio driver with spdif_status="0", and when I started up quake3, it would seg fault on sound init.

Now, with these new drivers, quake3 initiates the sound, but I get no video, it just stays on a blank screen. There is no un-usual output to the console at all:

Quote:

----- finished R_Init -----

------- sound initialization -------
------------------------------------
----- Sound Info -----
sound system is muted
1 stereo
32768 samples
16 samplebits
1 submission_chunk
0 speed
0x4d5fa000 dma buffer
No background file.
----------------------
Sound memory manager started
Loading vm file vm/ui.qvm.
VM file ui compiled to 594408 bytes of code
ui loaded in 1963008 bytes on the hunk
35 arenas parsed
32 bots parsed
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Just to test, i removed nvaudio and probed i810_audio, and opened quake3 again, and it started into the game normally. How would the audio drivers affect this?

blueworm 12-17-03 12:12 AM

Why are you setting spdif_status=0 ?
I dont have this module option set so it defaults to spdif_status=1
I was able to play quake3 but sound only came out of analog sound jack.
If you dont want spidif your better of with the alsa drivers.

tourettes 12-17-03 02:03 PM

See, the problem is, whenever I run Quake3 using any sound modules (i810_audio, alsa intel8x0), i get lockups in Quake3 that locks my X-server cause me to Ctrl-Alt-Backspace. This happens constantly, And I can't figure out what is causing it. The only way I can run Quake3 and not get these lockups is if i either turn off the sound all-together, or run it through artsd (using artsdsp -m quake3), which is not acceptable obviously because of the aweful sound lag.

I pass spdif_status=0 to the module because of statements in the release notes for the driver.

Quote:

The "spdif_status" module parameter is used to enable or disable S/PDIF support in the driver. By default S/PDIF is enabled, but can be disabled by setting spdif_status to 0. The driver can only support 48kHz sample rate when S/PDIF is enabled, so disabling it will increase compatability with applications that make assumptions about what sample rates the driver supports.
I have followed the directions step by step on the alsa website for setting up the nforce audio.

midall 12-18-03 02:07 PM

nvpanel
 
i have download the tar.gz packages but after make install there isn't a nvpanel application why?
sorry for my english

TheOneKEA 12-18-03 03:34 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by tourettes
See, the problem is, whenever I run Quake3 using any sound modules (i810_audio, alsa intel8x0), i get lockups in Quake3 that locks my X-server cause me to Ctrl-Alt-Backspace. This happens constantly, And I can't figure out what is causing it. The only way I can run Quake3 and not get these lockups is if i either turn off the sound all-together, or run it through artsd (using artsdsp -m quake3), which is not acceptable obviously because of the aweful sound lag.

I pass spdif_status=0 to the module because of statements in the release notes for the driver.



I have followed the directions step by step on the alsa website for setting up the nforce audio.

Perhaps that's it - I don't think Quake 3 supports a 48kHz sampling rate; the highest the 1.32b pointrelease will go is either 22kHz or 44kHz.

tourettes 12-18-03 03:43 PM

TheOneKEA - So what do you suggest?

TheOneKEA 12-18-03 03:49 PM

spdif_status=0.

Unless a later revision of either the GPL'd drivers or the NVIDIA drivers is able to expose a full range of sampling rates, so that Quake 3 can choose a proper rate and you can still use your 3|33+ digital connection.

tourettes 12-18-03 04:00 PM

TheOneKEA: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...threadid=22262 , this is a rant i went on a few days ago, it also shows my progress using different things like spdif_status=0.

This seems pretty hopeless, and unfortunitly, i cannot afford to purchase a pci sound card right now :(

TheOneKEA 12-19-03 03:26 AM

http://www.streetprices.com/Electron...SP1233430.html


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.