nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   OpenGL Environment variable... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=23016)

PengouinPdt 01-02-04 05:03 PM

OpenGL Environment variable...
 
elo,

how to set the OpenGl Environment Variables (FSAA, Anisotropic, VBlank Syncing, etc...) in XF86 ? in XF86Config(-4) file ? in console ?
plz, explain-me (if possible in FR :) )...

I don't understand how to specify this option...
I'll like to know this, because i've writing an HowTo Install Nvidia (in FR : ) www.stephane-huc.net/config/Nvidia), also i'm moderator to a linux forum and ... that's important for me ;) !

borgzilla 01-02-04 06:18 PM

That's easy
go to etc/X11 then open XF86Config file with some text editor(I would recommend kate).
Some RedHat based distributions use XF86Config-4 file.

Refer to nvidia readme file then edit XF86Config(-4)


Quote:

__GL_FSAA_MODE GeForce, GeForce2, Quadro, and Quadro2 Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0 FSAA disabled
1 FSAA disabled
2 FSAA disabled
3 1.5 x 1.5 Supersampling
4 2 x 2 Supersampling
5 FSAA disabled
6 FSAA disabled
7 FSAA disabled



__GL_FSAA_MODE GeForce4 MX, GeForce4 4xx Go, Quadro4 380,550,580 XGL,
and Quadro4 NVS
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0 FSAA disabled
1 2x Bilinear Multisampling
2 2x Quincunx Multisampling
3 FSAA disabled
4 2 x 2 Supersampling
5 FSAA disabled
6 FSAA disabled
7 FSAA disabled


__GL_FSAA_MODE GeForce3, Quadro DCC, GeForce4 Ti, GeForce4 4200 Go,
and Quadro4 700,750,780,900,980 XGL
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0 FSAA disabled
1 2x Bilinear Multisampling
2 2x Quincunx Multisampling
3 FSAA disabled
4 4x Bilinear Multisampling
5 4x Gaussian Multisampling
6 2x Bilinear Multisampling by 4x Supersampling
7 FSAA disabled


__GL_FSAA_MODE GeForce FX, Quadro FX
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0 FSAA disabled
1 2x Bilinear Multisampling
2 2x Quincunx Multisampling
3 FSAA disabled
4 4x Bilinear Multisampling
5 4x Gaussian Multisampling
6 2x Bilinear Multisampling by 4x Supersampling
7 4x Bilinear Multisampling by 4x Supersampling
i.e.
If you have Geforce 4 Ti video card type in console
__GL_FSAA_MODE=1 to enable 2x Bilinear Multisampling
or add these lines as a option in XF86Config


Same thing goes for Anisotropic filtering


Quote:

__GL_DEFAULT_LOG_ANISO GeForce/GeForce2/GeForce4 MX Description
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0 No anisotropic filtering
1 Enable automatic anisotropic filtering

__GL_DEFAULT_LOG_ANISO GeForce3/GeForce4 Ti/GeForce FX Description
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0 No anisotropic filtering
1 Low anisotropic filtering
2 Medium anisotropic filtering
3 Maximum anisotropic filtering
Example
__GL_DEFAULT_LOG_ANISO=3 to enable maximum anisotropic filtering for GeForce 4

There are applications which can do that for you like YANC or you can download



nvidia beta 46.20 drivers and do the following in console

./NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4620-pkg1.run --extract-only
go to /NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4620-pkg1/usr/bin and copy nvidia-settings file to /usr/bin directory.
Type nvidia-settings and you'll see something like this
http://members.rogers.com/borgware/linux/nvsettings.png

Enjoy

PengouinPdt 01-02-04 06:58 PM

elo, thank...

just one precision ...
when you says :
Quote:

If you have Geforce 4 Ti video card type in console
__GL_FSAA_MODE 1 to enable 2x Bilinear Multisampling
or add these lines as a option in XF86Config
what's section ? Section "Device" ? (i suppose...)...

and 2de question :
if you have 2 display with 2 video cards GeForce 4 (one for one, but not same chipset video, aka 1 GF4 MX and 1 GF4 TI)... that's possible to configure this variables ?

borgzilla 01-02-04 07:17 PM

Correct
it's under section device
I did some syntax mistake in a example above
it should be __GL_FSAA_MODE=1

I can't answer 2nd question cause I use only one dual head card sorry :)

SuLinUX 01-02-04 08:17 PM

You can also enable it globel by putting it in your .profile , it's hidden in your user directory.

export__GL_DEFAULT_LOG_ANISO=???
export__GL_FSAA_MODE=????

You can also set them per application, just open the executable script for say ,UT2003 that starts it and put the lines in there.

floam 01-03-04 06:30 PM

I don't think env var's should or can be set in XF86Config, I could be wrong though.

borgzilla 01-03-04 07:10 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by floam
I don't think env var's should or can be set in XF86Config, I could be wrong though.
It can but it shouldn't

http://pages.infinit.net/proy/nvidia-howto.txt

YANC in combination with nvclock is the best solution if you ask me.

PengouinPdt 01-06-04 06:09 PM

Thank, for all :afro:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.