nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Please i realy need this sorted! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=23674)

MAD_COMMANDER 01-16-04 05:18 PM

Please i realy need this sorted!
 
When installing the "NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-5328-pkg1.run" driver from nvidia's home page i use the CTRL+ALT+F1 to get out if my KDE desktop.. and then proseed to login to my root account.

i then type /1.run (because i shortend the file name)

and it comes up asking if i have binutils installed. so i read the ReadMe file which sayz to go in to the directory where your saveddriver is so i type CD /. which then give me the directory.. in the read me file it aslo sayz type "SH" so i then type "sh 1.run"

which it again asks about my binutils and something to with lb

I have no clue what its talking about

this is my first time using linux. i have Mandrake 9.2 and im litarly installing my first nvidia driver in linux..

Please can some one give me a step by step Guide to do this.. i don't know kernals etc.. or what most of the addressies mean

I guess MS has corrupted my brain for its simplisty.. i think a duble click EXE like the detonators would more simple. but as usal in the pc world nothing is

Thanks for you help

MAD_COMMANDER 01-16-04 05:44 PM

Aslo just testing my SIG :)

dopeskills 01-16-04 06:11 PM

You need to install the developer tools that came with Mandrake.

MAD_COMMANDER 01-16-04 07:25 PM

[color=blue][i]Thanks Dude!

MAD_COMMANDER 01-16-04 08:09 PM

Never Worked :( installed Binutils from CD2 and also the other versions of binutils from CD3. this is just anouying me now.. why is it not more simple? im i not exiting KDE correctly? FFS this is just stupid. i feel like im back in DOS.
I know windows is all crap because of scurity issues and not as stable as linux but its ease of use is twice that of linux!. I do not wish to learn kernals or code. i just simpley want to run linux to see what it is like but at this rate i will be moving back MS soon. please don't make my linux experance fall short.. i need help it still comes up asking if Binutils is install and if so make sure LD is in your path. Does no one else get this problem? has no one a much simpler way of installing nvidia drivers? ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHH:afro2: lol sorry just taking my frustrations out on the board.
But help would be welcomed

Thank you :)

Soul-Crusher 01-17-04 12:38 AM

This is just sort of a wild guess, but now that you have binutils installed try running ldconfig and then run the installer again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.