nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Blank screen after install driver (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=23817)

okanari 01-20-04 03:10 PM

Blank screen after install driver
 
1 Attachment(s)
My dist is Redhat 9.0
I install the linux drivers of nvidia (gf2gts) as described in the README and I tried to start xwindow. I type "startx" and than enter. I saw that the BLANK screen only. The XFConfig86 and log file is attached.. I need help thank you.

Note: I set the "nvidia" part to "nv" back to use my startx again...

OKAN

PenguinParoxysm 01-20-04 11:55 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I get the same thing. I have to revert back to the old XF86Config to get it to work again. I posted this on another thread but I have yet to get a reply.

I'm lost with a capital L. I even tried this with the newest driver and it does the same thing.

Attached is my flawless nvidia install log. (appears flawless)

the issue is the same as the initial poster here - once I changed my XF86config from nv to nvidia I get a blank screen.

PenguinParoxysm 01-21-04 12:01 AM

to elaborate on this....
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi there. I've got seemily the same problem as a couple others. I am running RH9 on kernel 2.4.20-27.9. Hardware: Athlon 1800XP, 512mb, Geforce3 64mb TI.

I've:
1)downloaded the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496-pkg2.run,
2)switched runlevels from 5 to 3
3)Removed the XFree86-Mesa-libGL package
4)Ran the Nvidia driver installer "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496-pkg2.run"
(install was succcessful - log attached)
5) I edited my XF86Config with:
Driver "nv"
to:
Driver "nvidia"

I go to start X and I get a black screen. I have to restore the old Xconfig for anything to work properly again. Anybody know what could be going on?
(XF86Config attached as well)

When I type glxgears I get this output as if nothing is working:

glxgears
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered visual

attached is the XFree86.0.log

pvgn1 01-21-04 01:23 AM

Question: Have any of you waited at the blank screen to see if the X server finally loads? The descriptions of your problems seem similar to my problem, and I have posted it as well.
Good luck,
pvgn1

okanari 01-21-04 04:59 AM

I wait up to 30mintutes and blank screen was still there... My system is AMD based system. I list my compopnents.

Epox 8K9a Kt400
AMD AThlonXP 2000+
256MB Crucial RAM
Winfast Gf2GTS


Is there any kernel problem?

Thanks

joe_g_patton 01-21-04 02:02 PM

Look at Timothy_Shawn's post
 
I had the same problem, and I took Timothy_Shawn's advice & installed an older driver:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...threadid=23805

This worked for me. I think that latest script download is crap :(

vazzquezz 01-22-04 09:45 AM

After a few (hundred) trials with Suse, i switched over to RH9. My X needs about 2 Minutes to come up now. But then it runs without any problems incl.3D.

I just read another thread with an advice I'll try tonight:

QUOTE:
Here is what I did to my XF86Config file:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"

VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 3 (generic)"
EndSection

END OF QUOTE

The bold line seems to stop the graphics-card from searching for TV or LCD's

Sounds if it's worth a try....

okanari 01-23-04 05:05 AM

Re: Look at Timothy_Shawn's post
 
Quote:

Originally posted by joe_g_patton
I had the same problem, and I took Timothy_Shawn's advice & installed an older driver:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...threadid=23805

This worked for me. I think that latest script download is crap :(

I try older version and I solve my problem. Thanks a lot

PenguinParoxysm 01-25-04 05:42 PM

screen takes awhile to load
 
Mine is taking a few minutes to load now too... (old driver does work just takes long)

The thing is... I have an LCD monitor... so is adding this line:

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"

a good thing for me?

vazzquezz 01-28-04 09:47 AM

As I understand the Option DFP/TV means DVI-out/TV-out. If you're connecting your LCD via Analog-VGA your Card handles it as if it was a "Standard"-CRT-Monitor. Using the Option may help on the "minutes of waiting..." :)

V.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.