nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   5700 & twinview & tv (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=23870)

rewerb 01-21-04 04:31 PM

5700 & twinview & tv
 
1 Attachment(s)
hi...

i have a 5700 card from leadtek and im using the 5328 driver. and im trying to get it working with my tv...

after reading many posts and trying different config files i cant succeed :(

it seems that with the nvidia driver i cant get anything but a black screen on the tv when running X...

Im assuming that this is the logfile is quite bad...

(II) NVIDIA(0): Supported TV modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): TV Standard: PAL-M, NTSC-M, or NTSC-J: 0x0
(II) NVIDIA(0): TV Standard: PAL-BDGHI, PAL-N, or PAL-NC: 0x0
(II) NVIDIA(0): TV Standard: HD480i: 720x480
(II) NVIDIA(0): TV Standard: HD480p: 720x480

does this mean that PAL and NTSC will only show a resolution of 0x0...
(very small screen...)

and leads to this..

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "640x480" (not a valid TV mode)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "512x384" (not a valid TV mode)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "400x300" (not a valid TV mode)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "320x240" (not a valid TV mode)
(EE) NVIDIA(0): No modes remaining for display device TV-0

the tv is connected correctly as when i boot i can use the computer in text mode, but after tryinf to use X the terminal goes strange... no cursur and the screen doesnt scroll, but switching the terminals Alt-1, Alt-2 does refresh it...

has anybody got a 5700 based card to work with a tv???
is there some way i can tell the driver that 640x480 is a valid tv mode???

i hope there is light at the end of the tunnel... or maybe just on my tv.. :)

rewerb 01-22-04 03:45 PM

1 Attachment(s)
can someone with a working tv let me know what the output of there log is with -logverbose 5...

is my log telling me that i dont have any supported tv modes, have i got a bad config file???

thanks...

iceburn 01-23-04 06:49 PM

I'm running into the same problem....

originally i was trying to get TV-OUT + CRT, using twinview or using the RightOf/LeftOf options in XFree's ServerLayout, but now i'm focusing on just getting the TV-OUT to work under X

similar to above i see the boot messages, i get the graphical lilo choices ( i did have to add an option in lilo vga='ask' to get past an "unknown mode passed error) then you see the kernel booting up and the "OK" messeges start scrolling by....

then under runlevel 5 (set in inittab) i get a handful of flickers - i assume this is when the card is trying to find a suitable resolution, then i get a screen stuck with the last "OK" messages from boot

if i set inittab to 3, the same thing happens except without the flickering

i have to ssh to the computer to do anything.

tried with the monitor plugged in, currently i'm only leaving the SVideo plugged in...

in the XFree log i get similar messages to above...
my logfile snippet:
Quote:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "1024x768" (hsync out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "2048x1536" (width too large for virtual size)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using default mode "1024x768" (hsync out of range)
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "800x600" (no mode of this name)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "640x480" (not a valid TV mode)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "1024x768" (not a valid TV mode)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "512x384" (not a valid TV mode)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "400x300" (not a valid TV mode)
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "320x240" (not a valid TV mode)
(EE) NVIDIA(0): No modes remaining for display device TV-0
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
Mandrake 9.2, FX5700ultra FYI

piedamaro 02-22-04 05:39 AM

Same problem here...
With a GF4-mx the tv-out works like a charm.
With my new FX5700 doesn't work at all...;(
Same XF86Config file. Same errors as the above.
All my cards are from asus.
Even on winloss, tv out works but it's worse than the gf4mx, in the sense that I couldn't have my monitor and my tv working together, but only one at time.
This is really awful to me because with a 70 card tv-out works, and with a 180 card it doesn't.
Please NVidia, speak up and let us know if this is a known bug, and if it has/will have a resolution.

Thanks,
Luca

dazed 02-27-04 03:53 PM

i'm basically in the same boat. fx5700. after trying so many different combinations over the past several weeks, i thought maybe my old tv just liked old cards as it was working fine with a geforce 2 and nvtv.

i'm hoping there is some way to get this to work as i use mythtv extensively and would have to go back to the old card otherwise. nvtv doesnt like the 5700.

anybody have any luck?

dazed 03-07-04 01:30 PM

finally got tv-out working on the fx5700 with the 4620 drivers. makes no sense to me why the 4620 drivers recognise the nvidia tv encoder as NVIDIA while the newer ones see it as Unknown NVIDIA.

anyway, grabbed the drivers from here http://www.sh.nu/download/nvidia

hope this helps someone

dazed

FireCell 03-07-04 04:12 PM

yeah i made a post a few days back about my fx5700ultra not being able to work and nvtv not recognising the card. I havent had a chance to try these drivers yet but ill give it a shot and hope they make it work.

nightjester 05-24-04 07:12 PM

Re: 5700 & twinview & tv
 
If anyone wants more confirmation of this problem, moving to 4620 drivers also fixed my problems with launching X on a TV. I was also able to get KDE running under the pre 5xxx drivers, so it seems it's something that started with the 5328 drivers.

Thanks all for the post and help.

Nightjester Thraeryn

maverick6664 06-01-04 07:34 PM

Re: 5700 & twinview & tv
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hmmm...I'm in the same boat, but cannot get my card (FX5700) to work with Twinview, though my old ti4200 and GF4-mx440 worked perfectly. Now with 4620 driver, I don't see anything on TV-out. However on Windows dualview works, and on Linux console is displayed on TV-out correctly, so cable connections are correct :(

My xf86config and logs......it looks like I have no problem with them except ipv6 related thingy(I'll compile again without IPv6 option).

Will anybody show me working XF86Config file?

Thanks in advance.

quadfour 06-02-04 07:10 PM

Re: 5700 & twinview & tv
 
I just got the same card and are having the exact same problem. With my machine though, I cannot change say from 1 X session to another without X locking up entirly. I put back in my Ti4200 to get TV out for now but there are still some stability problems with my chipset or something. I intend to have TV out working, I'll let you know if I find anything.

bednar 06-04-04 03:46 AM

Re: 5700 & twinview & tv
 
Hi, send the problem description to the linux-bugs@nvidia.com.
They answer for posts really!

Bednar

mixer030 06-04-04 11:12 AM

Re: 5700 & twinview & tv
 
i ve got it running..

nvidia driver 4260 (havent testet with 5336 yet).
xorg 6.7.0
kernel 2.4.23

cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status says:
Status: Enabled
Driver: AGPGART
AGP Rate: 4x
Fast Writes: Enabled
SBA: Enabled


my strategy:
i have 2 x server layouts ("crt" and "tv") and i use the one i need

"crt" uses the crt only (@1280x1024) and "tv" the twin view (both @ 800x600)

"crt" uses screen0 and screen0 uses device0
"tv" uses screen1 and screen1 uses device1

note that the option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50" is not used in the device1 section. i do not use modeline

first the two layouts.
the first layout is standard (startx) the second is optional and i call it on demand (startx -- -layout tv)
-----
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "crt"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "tv"
Screen 0 "Screen1" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
-----

now the devices, screens
-----
Section "Device"

Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVidia"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"

Option "NoLogo" "1" #Turn off logo display
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"

EndSection


Section "Device"

Identifier "Card1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVidia"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"

Option "NoLogo" "1" #Turn off logo display
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,TV"
Option "Twinview"
##orientation (default is RightOf, other values are Clone, LeftOf, Above ..)
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "29-74"
#Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50"
Option "MetaModes" "800x600,800x600;"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"

EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "DPMS"

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "800x600"
Option "DPMS"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "800x600"
Option "DPMS"
EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "DPMS"

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x600"
Option "DPMS"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "800x600"
Option "DPMS"
EndSubSection
EndSection

----

finaly the monitor (my monitor!)

----
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "samtron"
ModelName "96p"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30-98
VertRefresh 50-160
EndSection
----

good luck!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.