nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   My Asus FX5900SE (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=24244)

PeterJensen 01-30-04 04:45 AM

My Asus FX5900SE
 
Hi all (new member)

Bought a Asus FX5900SE a week ago. (Backup card to my Xgi Volari V8 ultra duo - Beta testing drivers.)

Ok first off all. I came from a 9700pro and i was REALLY amased that the Asus FX5900SE made LESS noise then my Boxed p4. Actually i thought the fan was not running :p ( http://www.asus.com/products/vga/v9950se/overview.htm)

Well now to the qustion.

Anny of you know why i can only get 475 mhz on the core and 750 mhz on the ram?

Best Regards
Peter Jensen
Denmark

saturnotaku 01-30-04 06:55 AM

Re: My Asus FX5900SE
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PeterJensen
Anny of you know why i can only get 475 mhz on the core and 750 mhz on the ram?
Simple answer - luck of the draw. You can't expect every video card you get to be able to overclock to insanely high levels.

Gator 01-30-04 06:56 AM

Re: My Asus FX5900SE
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PeterJensen
...Anny of you know why i can only get 475 mhz on the core and 750 mhz on the ram?
the core i'm not sure about, but the 5900SE RAM is only rated for 700mhz, so I wouldn't expect too much of an overclock on it. Do you have RAM heatsinks on that card?

PeterJensen 01-30-04 07:00 AM

There are no ram heat sinks. :(

But the card is a beast and i love that it makes no noise.

The nvidia temp reader says its 55c idle and about 60c after a hour of FarCry :cool:

Gator 01-30-04 07:31 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by PeterJensen
There are no ram heat sinks. :(
...

well thats part of the problem then. If you wanna overclock the memory, RAM heatsinks can be an important part of it. I mean of course it depends what speed memory they installed on there originally anyway, but heatsinks can definetly help

they're relatively cheap these days if you wanna add some. And I recommend you add them on both sides of the card, wherever you see a ram chip

The Baron 01-30-04 07:42 AM

check the serial number on a memory chip, then see what speed it's rated for at Samsung.

stncttr908 01-30-04 08:43 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Gator
well thats part of the problem then. If you wanna overclock the memory, RAM heatsinks can be an important part of it. I mean of course it depends what speed memory they installed on there originally anyway, but heatsinks can definetly help

they're relatively cheap these days if you wanna add some. And I recommend you add them on both sides of the card, wherever you see a ram chip

It'd only put you over another 10mhz at most. However, they do look quite good.

Just beware of the VOIDED WARRANTY OF DOOM!!!!11 :afro:

stefan567 01-30-04 12:37 PM

I just got the FX5900 SE from EVGA and it does have the Ram Heat Sinks. I'm able to get it to 450/820. I think the Ram Heat sinks make the difference and mine is very quiet also.

PerfectCr 01-31-04 09:29 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by stefan567
I just got the FX5900 SE from EVGA and it does have the Ram Heat Sinks. I'm able to get it to 450/820. I think the Ram Heat sinks make the difference and mine is very quiet also.
820? Isn't the ram only rated for 700Mhz? I am afraid to O/C the ram on my 5900SE because it's already at it's limit. You think raising the Core by 50Mhz I will really too much of a difference? I have always O/C'ed my video card before but this one I'm a little touchy with. Thoughts? :)

stefan567 01-31-04 09:51 AM

Well what I have always done is raise it in 10Mhz increments and tested with something like 3dmark03 to see if I get artifacts. Then if I do get artifacts I lower it 10Mhz.

PerfectCr 01-31-04 10:08 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by stefan567
Well what I have always done is raise it in 10Mhz increments and tested with something like 3dmark03 to see if I get artifacts. Then if I do get artifacts I lower it 10Mhz.
Yeah me too :) But I guess I am worried about the Ram. Normally the Ram has some headroom. Since EVGA used 2.8ns ram on this card, 700Mhz is the max.

Smokey 01-31-04 01:30 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by PerfectCr
820? Isn't the ram only rated for 700Mhz? I am afraid to O/C the ram on my 5900SE because it's already at it's limit. You think raising the Core by 50Mhz I will really too much of a difference? I have always O/C'ed my video card before but this one I'm a little touchy with. Thoughts? :)
My 5900XT runs @450/950, I dont know what spec ram this has, and Im not ripping off the heatsink to find out :p

btw, my card is running 24/7 (so to speak) at those speeds, and have never crashed or had one artifact in any games I have tried with this card. For me the best OC test was Unreal2.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.