nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   FSTAB Rules (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=24291)

Daniel-Son 01-31-04 03:59 AM

FSTAB Rules
 
I have managed to get a NTFS partition working with RedHat 9.0, but I have to mount it every time I log in. The process I go through is an auto-login as a user, then jump into "su" through xterm and mount the partitions with following command.

mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs -t ntfs -o umask=0222

Which allows me as a user to access it through a shortcut from my desktop, and through XMMS.

I have tried various fstab rules to automatically mount this at boot - but they all fail.

Does anybody have the correct rule in which to add to my fstab file to get it to mount at boot properly?

Thanks

PS - I haven't mucked around with the uid and gid options in the fstab directory. I know that uid is the user name of my account - but I was unsure oif what the gid entry was.

TheOneKEA 01-31-04 03:31 PM

/dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs ntfs auto,owner,fmask=111 0 0

This is what I use.

Daniel-Son 02-01-04 01:46 AM

Formatting
 
Thanks for the reply - first time failed, didn't catch the loadup screen to see if it properly failed - but I couldn't access it from my user account.

What is the formatting of the text in the fstab file - is there spaces or tabs between the entries?

Thanks

Daniel-Son

TheOneKEA 02-01-04 03:07 AM

Tabs.

Daniel-Son 02-01-04 04:10 AM

FAILED
 
I entered exactly this at the end of my "/etc/fstab" file, on new line

/dev/hda3 [TAB] /mnt/ntfs [TAB] ntfs [TAB] auto[COMMA] owner [COMMA] fmask=111 [TAB] 0 [TAB] 0 [ENTER]

and during boot it failed.

The message said something like the following

Wrong fs, bad superblock on dev/hda3, too many file systems mounted

Here is a copy of my fstab file

Quote:

IW /etc/fstab (Read only) Row 1 Col 1 8:10 Ctrl-K H for help
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hda6 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
/dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs ntfs auto,owner,fmask=111 0 0
Is there something wrong with my entry or is there something a little screwy with my system?

Thanks for your continued help .

Daniel-Son

TheOneKEA 02-01-04 06:39 AM

Did you compile NTFS support, either into your kernel or as a module?

Daniel-Son 02-01-04 06:28 PM

I downloaded the ntfs RedHat RPM from here
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/l...8.9.athlon.rpm

and then installed that, using the usual means.

I can mount the volume manually, using the comment made in one of my previous posts, it just doesn't like mouting during boot.

Daniel-Son 02-02-04 07:08 PM

Don't Worry - Be Happy
 
Last Night I got it fixed.

For those that are not interested I thought I would share it with those who were.

I fluked this by modifying the fstab file and put in the following entry:

/dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs ntfs auto,owner,umask=0222 0 0

Could it have been simpler?

It seems I have been dancing around the correct answer for quite a while

Thankyou for all of your help TheOneKEA!

Daniel-Son


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.