nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   TNT2 and TV OUT (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=27867)

alphac 04-26-04 08:05 AM

TNT2 and TV OUT
 
I can't succeed to use my tv with my nvidia TNT2 tv out:
Software
Mandrake 10
Latest Nvidia driver from nvidia.org
XF86config is configured like in nvidia README:

Monitor section:
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60

Driver section:
Driver "nvidia"

Screen section:
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"

In the screen section default bpp is 24 and resolutions are 800x600 640x480

when I try "startx" it return an error like this one:

EE NVIDIA: Failed to read mapping of displaydevices to CRTCs

EE Xfree: Screens found but none has an usable configuration

Thunderbird 04-26-04 09:14 AM

Re: TNT2 and TV OUT
 
The info you provided looks good. Can't discover a bug in it. Could you post your XF86Config file so I can verify that it is ok?

Did you already try an "older" nvidia driver? It might that an older version fixes the problems (1.0-4xxx). The driver version itself doesn't really matter for TNT-cards as no new stuff for them is added.

yodaofborg 04-26-04 09:31 AM

Re: TNT2 and TV OUT
 
Surley the options go in the device section?? and not the screen?? just a thought...lol

(from the nvidia Cnofig sample, still aplicable :)

Section "Device"
Identifier "NV AGP TwinView"
VendorName "nvidia"
Driver "nvidia"
# update this with the PCI id of your card. Consult the output
# of the 'lspci' command. The BusID is usually optional when
# only using one graphics card.
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"

# sample twinview setup
Option "TwinView"
# be sure to replace the HorizSync and VertRefresh with correct values
# for your monitor!
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-82"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "55-120"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1280x1024; 1024x768,1024x768"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "crt,crt"
EndSection



*from my TV ONLY display setting....

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "NVidia"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768;800x600,800x600"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "NoLogo" "0"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-I"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "CursorShadow" "1"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "64"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "2"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "2"
EndSection

Thunderbird 04-26-04 10:03 AM

Re: TNT2 and TV OUT
 
First it doesn't matter if you put the options in the screen or device section. Second the part after "*from my TV ONLY display setting...." is wrong. That part would be correct if you had a Twinview-capable (can output to two screens at the same time) card. All twinview related lines (twinview, twinvieworientation, secondmonitorhorizsync, secondmonitorvertrefresh and metamodes) need to be removed.

yodaofborg 04-26-04 10:11 AM

Re: TNT2 and TV OUT
 
i know that, durr, but was tryin to help, i wont bother next time :p *like i said in my comment, is from the XF86Config file supplied by nvidia AND IT DOES MATTER :) its DEVICE OPTIONS not screen options, two seperate parts of the same file :lame: :spank: :bash: :kill: :lol2: :drooling:

Thunderbird 04-26-04 12:38 PM

Re: TNT2 and TV OUT
 
sorry, didn't see you were someone else .. (me wasn't awake ..)

Pinky's brain 05-02-04 09:04 PM

Re: TNT2 and TV OUT
 
1 Attachment(s)
I have the same problem, I cannot force TV out through the config without getting the error "Failed to read mapping of display devices to CRTCs".

This wouldnt be so bad if it werent for the fact that nvtv causes blue borders on the video overlay with my TNT. Cant someone from NVIDIA help him out with that problem? ;)

(Oops the attached config had the connectedmonitor line commented out, this is the working config I use with nvtv ... when I uncomment the connectedmonitor OR the ignoredisplaydevices options I get the error.)

Pinky's brain 05-03-04 01:04 PM

Re: TNT2 and TV OUT
 
Well I found a solution for my problem on the mythtv list ... I increased XV_COLORKEY by 2 and the blue bar disappeared for me.

More info at :
http://www.gossamer-threads.com/arch..._line_P121492/
and some technical background at :
http://zebra.fh-weingarten.de/~maxi/.../msg00341.html

So just use CRT output while starting the X-server, and use nvtv to switch to TV as long as this bug persists, see
http://sourceforge.net/projects/nv-tv-out


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.