nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Warcraft 3 :random short pauses during game (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2880)

foivos 10-15-02 02:15 AM

Warcraft 3 :random short pauses during game
 
When I play custom games I noticed that I have short random pauses (the cursor jumps a little bit or is inactive for 0.2 seconds(milliseconds), the units are not moving smoothly etc)
The problem seems that is more noticeable with the 40.xxx series of detonators but it exist with older detonators as well.
Any help?

P4 2400/100
1024 mb RDRAM PC800
Asus P4T-E
3XWD 800JB (2 of them on Promise controller no Raid)
Ge Force 4 Ti 4400
Detonator 40.72 (the same with with 40.71 40.41 and less noticeable with 30.82)
Win XP Pro SP1

Kruno 10-15-02 08:27 AM

I noticed that too at a certain point where units would fill up an area. Never had a prob before.

I have Vsync enabled though so it could be that :/

foivos 10-15-02 11:40 AM

I reinstal the game and I disabled the 3Ddirectional sound . The situation now is better. I also suspect the 0.3 patch because the problem started after I installed the above patch.
Anyway thanks for the help.

The Baron 10-15-02 06:47 PM

Is your pagefile disabled in WinXP? That should help...

DXnfiniteFX 10-16-02 01:22 AM

I myself believe it to be the work of the latest patch. The page file doesn't correct this issue. I actually thought the lack of the page file was causing it, but I turned it on and didn't make a difference.

Kruno 10-16-02 01:45 AM

Disabling vsync fixed it.

foivos 10-16-02 05:12 AM

I don't think that page file is used when the memory is enough. I agree that the problem is related with the latest patch.
I must tell something else as well: since I converted my hard drives from Fat 32 to NTFS I suspect that I have lower performance. PC Merk gives me the same scores for the H.D. but this doesn't mean anything. Fat 32 must be better for gaming.

Kruno 10-16-02 06:39 AM

HTF can a hard drive improve frame rate? lolz
Unless you are using a pagefile it will not matter lolz.

I will never go back to the crummy FAT partition. :eek:

foivos 10-16-02 09:56 AM

The short pauses in the game have nothing to do with frame rate. Even if I change the res from 1024x768 to1280x1024 or 1600x1200 the problem remains the same (doesn't increase). NTFS is much more secure and strong (tht's why I don't go back as well)but recquires more resources.

Kruno 10-16-02 06:11 PM

Well with 768MB of ram and so forth it's no problem for me :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.