nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   AGP instability with GF4 and P4x400 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29110)

Kero Hazel 05-23-04 06:12 PM

AGP instability with GF4 and P4x400
 
This makes two Via motherboards that have given me no end of grief... it's the last time I'm ever going non-Intel. But until I get a new mobo, I'm trying to get my AGP working. Using NvAGP hasn't worked for me, and neither has AGPGART. Since my chipset isn't supported by NvAGP, I've been mostly messing with AGPGART.

I get complete lockups as soon as X starts -- sometimes before I even log in, at the xdm screen, sometimes just after my WM starts. I read that having fast AGP writes and SBA enabled can lead to instability. I disabled fast writes in my BIOS, but there was no section related to SBA. The NV docs says to extract the drivers from the .run file and edit os-registry.c, which I did. SBA *should* be disabled. I even went into /etc/modprobe.conf and added this line as someone suggested: "options nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=0 NVreg_EnableAGPFW=0" but that didn't work either.

Here's what a cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status produces:
Status: Enabled
Driver: AGPGART (inactive)
AGP Rate: 8x
Fast Writes: Disabled
SBA: Enabled

Anyone know how to definitively disable SBA? I don't want to give up on AGP until I've tried disabling that first. If you have advice on getting the P4x400 to work with the GF4 those are welcome too. ;)

LordMorgul 05-23-04 08:27 PM

Re: AGP instability with GF4 and P4x400
 
There are two sections of os-registry.c pertaining to the default SBA setting, one for IA64 and one for x86. Did you edit the right one?

[edit] uh, nm I did not check what arch that board was for before I posted that[/edit]

Kero Hazel 05-23-04 10:31 PM

Re: AGP instability with GF4 and P4x400
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LordMorgul
There are two sections of os-registry.c pertaining to the default SBA setting, one for IA64 and one for x86. Did you edit the right one?

[edit] uh, nm I did not check what arch that board was for before I posted that[/edit]

Actually, I edited out them BOTH. When I went to edit the file I saw that x86-based systems automatically have the SBA setting disabled. I thought maybe there was a problem with detection -- maybe the installer thought I had an IA64? -- so I just commented out the whole block and put:
static int NVreg_EnableAGPSBA = 0;

I have no idea why my settings aren't taking hold.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.