nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Resolution only works if it is the only one specified. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29539)

anderlan 06-03-04 08:22 PM

Resolution only works if it is the only one specified.
 
2 Attachment(s)
I am trying to run my 19" crt at 1400x1050, as 1600 is too much and 1280 isn't enough for my taste. Also, I want other (lesser) resolutions to be available to various applications, like games.

When I say this:

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1400x1050"
EndSubSection

X starts at a real and virtual resolution of 1400x1050, I have confirmed by looking at images with specific pixel sizes. However, when I say this, in order, I think, to enable other applications access to more modes:

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1024x768" <etc>
EndSubSection

X starts at a real resoltuion of 1280x1024 and a virtual resolution of 1400x1050.
What's just insane is when I say this:

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1400x1050" "400x300"
EndSubSection

X starts at a real resolution of **400x300*** and of course virtual res of 1400x1050.

So, the point is, I know the driver *CAN* generate timings for 1400x1050 that it likes. At least when it's the only thing it can choose from. How do I make it do it even when I want to enable other resolutions for various apps to use?

Details:
TNT2 Ultra
Debian, 2.4.26 kernel. Using debian packaged nvidia driver.
AMD K7.
(Have 2 other debian/2.4/amd rigs with various TNT/Gf cards for testing, too)

The attached config and log are just from the last try, like the second snippet above.

Thunderbird 06-04-04 12:39 AM

Re: Resolution only works if it is the only one specified.
 
You need to create a modeline for your screen to work in 1400x1050. I wonder if your screen really supports that resolution natively (without interlacing ..) else it is not very nice. (calculate the dimensions of the screen in inch and then multiply it with the amount of dpi)

For example use this to calculate modelines: http://www.sh.nu/nvidia/gtf.php
(based on gtf.sf.net)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.