nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Fedora Core 2 connection problem (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29633)

CodeName 06-06-04 01:14 PM

Fedora Core 2 connection problem
 
Hello every one, I am new to linux and at the same time not. Around when 7.0 came out I poked around in it a bit but never really stuck with it. Well to make a long story short I now use Linux Fedora Core 2. I am having a problem connecting to the internet I have tried a few things still no go. Can some one help me out with this? It says I have an active ethernet connection but I can not browse the web get on AIM or any other features. I am running through a router thus my computer will have a staticly assigned IP(private). I have all my information ready to do this if some one can help me. I.E. Default Gateway DNS and so on. If I do not need any of this because I already have an active ethernet connection thats great but just incase. Can some one please help me with this? It would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

whig 06-06-04 06:29 PM

Re: Fedora Core 2 connection problem
 
Point your default gateway and DNS of your computer to the private IP number of your router. I don't know Fedora - is it linuxconf which can do this? ping is a great tool for testing all this (IP numbers and names). Google for Linux network troubleshooting (or howto).

eg
http://www.chinalinuxpub.com/doc/www...work-linux.htm
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Net-HOWTO/

erwos 06-17-04 09:34 AM

Re: Fedora Core 2 connection problem
 
The most sane solution is to use "system-config-network" and set up the connection from there.

-Erwos

arokh 06-21-04 06:39 AM

Re: Fedora Core 2 connection problem
 
This is a forum for nvidia related problems. Please post stuff like this to the appropriate Fedora mailing list or whatever.

emailthatguy 06-25-04 07:32 AM

Re: Fedora Core 2 connection problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by arokh
This is a forum for nvidia related problems. Please post stuff like this to the appropriate Fedora mailing list or whatever.

hey dingleberry, do that reading thing on the description for this forum

"Linux operating system and software discussion not related to graphics cards."

dont be a dick

Quote:

Originally Posted by CodeName
Can some one please help me with this?

Click on the red hat start button dealie, then click on system settings, then click on network. you can plug your settings in there.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.