nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Quake 3 for Linux? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=3091)

tokevino 10-21-02 01:11 AM

Quake 3 for Linux?
 
I've read some of the articles here about Q3A and Linux. I have a Q3A disc for WIN. Does it contain a version for Linux? If not, where can I get / buy a copy?

Thanks.

lanwah 10-21-02 05:44 AM

hi

if you have Quake3 (windows full version) it is possible to get it working on linux

first make a folder called...
/usr/local/games/quake3

then place your Quake3 cd in your cdrom and mount it
mount /dev/cdrom

then goto /mnt/cdrom/quake3/
and copy the folder baseq3 to
/usr/local/games/quake3/

then download the linux binaries
ftp://ftp.idsoftware.com/idstuff/qua...t-1.32.x86.run

and install

then just type
sh quake3 or ./quake3

to run the game

hope this helps

tokevino 10-21-02 11:11 PM

Thx a lot!
 
Information is very helpful! Thx a lot.

luigi 10-23-02 12:23 PM

Almost the same applies also to Return To Castle Wolfenstein!
 
I had to say this, since I have not played Quake at all after I got Wolf to run with Linux.

Only difference is, that you need to install the windows version somewhere and after that copy the game data (the "main" directory) under /usr/local/games/wolfenstein/

Then get the installer from www.castlewolfenstein.com and have fun!

The game works perfecly and you will have a good time shooting the windows players. ;)

king baytor 11-08-02 11:05 AM

what installer??? please help.... i've already copied the rtcw order from my windows partition to linux... plz... tell me what installer i have to download ... and how to use it...

luigi 11-08-02 01:10 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by king baytor
what installer??? please help.... i've already copied the rtcw order from my windows partition to linux... plz... tell me what installer i have to download ... and how to use it...
It is very easy the make this work.
Download links to the installer are
1. http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/ret...l.x86.run.html
2. http://www.fileshack.com/file.x?fid=132

Once you have downloaded the file, just open terminal (command prompt) and go where you saved the file and type these two commands:
chmod u+x wolf*
./wolf-linux-1.4-full.x86.run

The installer asks some questions and then you can start playing.. (Of course you had to copy the "main" directory from windows wolf to /usr/local/games/wolfenstein before you started the installer.)

king baytor 11-08-02 09:42 PM

kuul... wow.. it works.. thx...

Budious 11-13-02 11:24 PM

Is there any way to run the Team Arena expansion on linux or does ID not support it?

luigi 11-16-02 08:46 AM

Yes, it is possible.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Budious
Is there any way to run the Team Arena expansion on linux or does ID not support it?
If you downloaded the linux version of Quake3, you already have support for that. (It is the same binary for both games.) The only thing what you need to do, is once again copy the maps from your windows version. Maps are saved in *.pk3 files. If they are inside a directory like "teamarena" you must copy the whole directory.

Also, make sure to check out the many quake3 mods that are freely available from the net. some links:

www.urbanterror.net
www.quakerally.com
www.q3f.com

All these are free, and work with Linux.

Luigi.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.