nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   6800 ultra freeze (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=34038)

-=pat=- 08-05-04 04:44 PM

6800 ultra freeze
 
2 Attachment(s)
Hi
I bought a gainward 6800ultra and installed the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111 driver.
When i start a game like et or quake 3 the xserver frezees sometimes.
I saw only a black screen and couldnt do anything.(Strg+Alt+F1,2,3...)
The system has worked fine with a ti4400.

Debian Sid, Linux 2.6.7, 475W powerpack

Dont know if its the right log file .
(Sorry for my bad english :( )

-=pat=- 08-07-04 06:28 AM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
And when the game ist running (ET) and I press Strg+Alt+F2 and Strg+Alt+F7 the screen turn black and I cant do anything.

tgnb 08-08-04 12:37 PM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
I have the same problem with my 6800. I documented the problems in-depth in an earlier thread. The new drivers have not helped!

Under windows its slightly more stable but the same thing happens on occasion.

Under Linux this card is pretty much useless in 3d for me.

thomas21 08-08-04 06:22 PM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by -=pat=-
Hi
I bought a gainward 6800ultra and installed the NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-6111 driver.
When i start a game like et or quake 3 the xserver frezees sometimes.
I saw only a black screen and couldnt do anything.(Strg+Alt+F1,2,3...)
The system has worked fine with a ti4400.

Debian Sid, Linux 2.6.7, 475W powerpack

Dont know if its the right log file .
(Sorry for my bad english :( )

Hi =pat=,

I did scan your XF86Config file :cool2:
Can you try disabling the line:
Load "dri"
Change it to something like: #Load "dri"
and test if it's more stable.
Maybe this also explains the following line I don't like in your X11 log:
ymbol __glXActiveScreens from module /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libdri.a is unresolved!

Good luck, and hey, .. is it fast this 6800 :D

holoman 08-13-04 09:34 AM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
I can only agree with tgnb, the 6800 U card is pretty much useless in Linux as the drivers are today. OpenGL apps crashes the entire box frequently.

Regards,

holoman

-=pat=- 08-14-04 08:07 AM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
THX for your answers. :)
I have tested a lot but nothing works :(
Now I have given the 6800u back and will buy a 5950u.

bms20 08-14-04 01:29 PM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
GOT IT!

After much dispare, (and a few lockups on Doom3 running XP) I had a look in the other forums for 6800 ultra problems. It seems that many people are having problems from many different card providers.

HOWEVER, many of the board vendors have issued flash-rom updates for their cards, my POV 6800U was one of them. After flashing the card bios my machine is stable under both linux and windows. This makes my machine usable now w/6800U. Furthermore, many graphics errors that were visible in Doom3 and other games have now vanished.

So, if you're having problems, look at the overclockers forum: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk under graphics. There are a lot of details there for sorting your GF6800U out.

I hope this helps!

holoman 08-16-04 06:03 AM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
Thanks, that helped!

Newest BIOS and suddenly very stable. No crashes yet...

Regards,

holoman

bms20 08-16-04 08:53 AM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
Holoman,

Can you shut your computer down correctly? I'm still having some problems, which I think are driver/bios related:

1) If I use Point of View's overclocked 425MHz bios, I get random "!" characters written to the screen in text mode!!! Yes, text mode! But the machine stays up.

2) If I use NVidia's reference 400MHz bios (version ending with .15) I get no random "!" on the text mode screen.

3) Using either bios, I cannot shut down my computer - the machine hangs when killing the X server. (If I set the machine to run in init level 3, I can exit X safely and reboot, but sometimes I get random lockups after the reset line is thrown...)

4) If I run konqueror and move the mouse over the http:// bar, on about 1 out of every 30 times the down box icon (on the left of the http bar) gets rendered incorrectly.

I suspect that there are still some unstable timing problems with the card, and/or my card is defective, and somehow passed QC.

-Brett

holoman 08-16-04 10:30 AM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bms20
Holoman,

Can you shut your computer down correctly? I'm still having some problems, which I think are driver/bios related:



I suspect that there are still some unstable timing problems with the card, and/or my card is defective, and somehow passed QC.

-Brett

Hi!

I did do a shutdown after running OpenGL application heavily for a long time. That failed.

I then tried to do a shutdown just after starting X after reboot and that worked fine.

I have not had the time to try several times, but will post an update to this when I do reboots in the future.

Regards,

holoman

bms20 08-16-04 11:08 AM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
That's promising.

Looks like we're getting similar behavior; and I'm guessing that the behavior is due to the driver now, and not so much the hardware.

Now the waiting for a stable driver/bios begins...

I'll see if I can get more details out of the driver by running in debug mode tonight...

-Brett

tgnb 08-17-04 02:38 PM

Re: 6800 ultra freeze
 
I have an RMA # from PNY and will be sending it back this week. If i have the same problems with the new card I will flash its bios. Thats if the replacement card has the same old version.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.