nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=34607)

Gator 08-12-04 07:39 PM

even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
I just got Doom3 and even 640x480 with lowest details runs like utter crap for me. I mean we are talking some SLOW framerates, you would think I had a TNT2 with 486 CPU. Athlon64 3200, FX5900XT, 1gig RAM, latest drivers for everything.

I tried the tweaks in this thread with no success.

Help! :(

It's probably worth mentioning that all my other games work excellent, including UT2k4, Halo, & FarCry. But Doom3 is just awful for some reason, we're talking 2 frames per second sometimes

anzak 08-12-04 07:58 PM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
What drivers are you using?

GlowStick 08-12-04 08:04 PM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
Try disabling your second monitor.

Gator 08-12-04 08:41 PM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by anzak
What drivers are you using?

official 61.77

Quote:

Originally Posted by GlowStick
Try disabling your second monitor.

no other game has had a problem with it, u really think that's it? if so, that sucks

Pandora's Box 08-12-04 08:57 PM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
i think its a problem with doom 3. it doesnt like second monitors.

GlowStick 08-12-04 09:10 PM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Gator
official 61.77



no other game has had a problem with it, u really think that's it? if so, that sucks

Well we had another thread with a guy with a 6800GT with dual monitor who said his preformance sucked, someone said turn off 2nd monitor, boom he says its great.

cam9786 08-12-04 09:21 PM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
Yes, dual moniters is known performance issue. Disable and viola.

Gator 08-12-04 09:40 PM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
Ok, you guys were right, I disabled one of the monitors and everything is plenty fast now, thanks.

Hopefully they'll fix that in a patch or something.

Da Alians 08-12-04 10:21 PM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
can we burn the next one who has dual monitors in a slow horrible 5fps 640x480 hell?

Gator 08-13-04 05:25 AM

Re: even 640x480 runs like crap for me, help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Da Alians
can we burn the next one who has dual monitors in a slow horrible 5fps 640x480 hell?

If you were any funnier, you could have played the lead role in Gigli.
:spam2:

ricercar 08-13-04 05:30 AM

disabled
 
Hey alright. Disabling my second monitor finally made my NV30/Barton2500+/nForce2 faster than my NV28GL/T'bred2400+/Nforce1. Disabling my second monitor made my NV30U/Barton3000+/nForce2 jump from 20fps to 40fps.

Gator 08-13-04 05:45 AM

Re: disabled
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ricercar
Hey alright. Disabling my second monitor finally made my NV30/Barton2500+/nForce2 faster than my NV28GL/T'bred2400+/Nforce1. Disabling my second monitor made my NV30U/Barton3000+/nForce2 jump from 20fps to 40fps.

for all games or just Doom3? I've only had a problem with Doom3, all my other games work fine when both monitors are enabled.

I sure hope they fix this, because first of all it's annoying to disable the 2nd display every time I wanna play Doom3. Second of all I got dual displays for a couple reasons, one of which was watching AOLIM & MIRC while playing a game full screen. I like my setup, and shouldn't have to sacrifice it because someone messed up a line of code in Doom3 regarding us multi-display users. :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.