nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   fx5900xt power shortfall (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=35187)

SNIKT! 08-20-04 06:17 PM

fx5900xt power shortfall
 
Just bought Chaintech FX5900XT.
Got message not enough power to run it satisfactorily.
Sounds like I need to hook up supply directly to psu but user guide offers no guidance.
Anyone give me any advice on this?

MOC 08-20-04 06:42 PM

Re: fx5900xt power shortfall
 
First do you no the size of your P/S
I would think that 450watt would be
the smallest you would go.

I just bought this one for a 2nd
P/C.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-968&depa=0

I have this one too.
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...103-924&depa=1

subbo 08-20-04 07:24 PM

Re: fx5900xt power shortfall
 
I've been using a 250W for the FX5950U for a year.. 450W? bah.
btw doesnt that message only apper when the power cable isnt hooked to the card :)

Gator 08-20-04 07:33 PM

Re: fx5900xt power shortfall
 
I got the message repeatidly when I first installed my FX5900XT. I had an Enermax 350w at the time and was surprised it wasn't enough. So I bought an Antec True 550w and it never happen again. But for FX cards, an Antec True 430w or equivalent is fine.

ricercar 08-20-04 07:52 PM

Re: fx5900xt power shortfall
 
I've seen that message appear for a 5900 Ultra with power cable attached on PSUs up to 350W, but never on my 380 or a higher wattage PSUs. FWIW all PSUs tested are Antecs, but YMMV.

mezkal 08-21-04 02:10 AM

Re: fx5900xt power shortfall
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIKT!
Just bought Chaintech FX5900XT.
Got message not enough power to run it satisfactorily.
Sounds like I need to hook up supply directly to psu but user guide offers no guidance.
Anyone give me any advice on this?

Frankly it's really a driver issue. I've only got that Sentinel message with 62.2X and 61.77. No other driver set has ever complained. Try Switching drivers.

Also, I'm not sure that you the molex connector connected. Make sure you do.

Cheers,

mezkal

SNIKT! 08-21-04 03:41 AM

Re: fx5900xt power shortfall
 
THX everyone for your advice.
It was the loex connector and now use 400w psu and all sems to be fine.

Now Doom 3 awaits - any recommendations as to settings to get th emost out of this game.

My computer specs are:

Processor
Model : AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2400+
L2 On-board Cache : 256kB ECC synchronous write-back

Mainboard and BIOS
Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI USB SMBus/i2c
MP Support : No
System BIOS : American Megatrends Inc. 07.00T
Mainboard : ECS K7S5A
System Chipset : Silicon Integrated Systems (SiS) SiS735 CPU to PCI Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 133MHz (266MHz data rate)
Installed Memory : 512MB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 133MHz (266MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Hansol 710P/710D
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : MPU-401 Compatible MIDI Device
Device : Standard Game Port
Device : Creative SB Live! Value
Device : Creative Game Port

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP Home Ver 5.01.2600 Service Pack 1

Psu
Mercury 440w model KOB AP4 400CE

SNIKT! 08-21-04 03:45 AM

Re: fx5900xt power shortfall
 
sorry for loex read molex!

NVIDIA driver installed is 61.76


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.