nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Anybody else tried 2xQ AA? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=35493)

BrianG 08-24-04 07:47 PM

Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
It really seems to suit Doom3. Give it a run and let me know what you guys think.

Cheimison 08-24-04 09:11 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
Yeah, it looks finem but I use 8x.

BrianG 08-24-04 10:06 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
Out of curioisty, what is a normal timedemo and the rest of your settings?

Ninjaman09 08-25-04 12:22 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
I think Cheimison meant he uses 8x anisotropic filtering. There's no way Doom 3 would be playable on a decent resolution with 8xS on ANY system.

pat777 08-25-04 02:31 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ninjaman09
I think Cheimison meant he uses 8x anisotropic filtering. There's no way Doom 3 would be playable on a decent resolution with 8xS on ANY system.

*cough*SLI*cough*
Of course, he doesn't use SLI but that still means there are systems that can play 8xS AA on a decent resolution.
8xS AA on 1024*768 is actually less work than 1600*1200 with 4x MSAA. I consider 10*7 decent but 12*10 is slowing becoming the new 10*7.

Ninjaman09 08-25-04 02:42 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
Well I based that on the fact that in any benchmark, once supersampling is used it obliterates framerates, while multisampling doesn't seem to affect them much (on 6800-series anyway). Can't test it out yet, but I will when I get home.

I wouldn't get so excited about SLI until we start seeing some benchmarks. I've seen nothing but speculation so far, and in my experience, these "miracle technologies" never pan out (anyone remember the Geforce FX launch?).

Cheimison 08-25-04 09:41 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
I use 16x AF, and 8xS on 1600x1200 and FYI I get 40fps in the time demo on ultra quality, and 50-60 throughout most of the game. GeForce 6800 GT is the ****, man.

evilchris 08-25-04 10:19 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Cheimison
I use 16x AF, and 8xS on 1600x1200 and FYI I get 40fps in the time demo on ultra quality, and 50-60 throughout most of the game. GeForce 6800 GT is the ****, man.

Hope you're joking...

Cheimison 08-25-04 10:25 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
I don't know what the Hell is wrong with your systems. My Doom3 runs fine on those settings.
-----------------------\
Edit: I stand corrected. I didn't have the driver option checked in Doom 3, and it was at 4xAA. I switched it up to 8x and it dropped to 15fps, which is like 1/3 the previous speed.

evilchris 08-25-04 10:35 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Cheimison
I don't know what the Hell is wrong with your systems. My Doom3 runs fine on those settings.

http://www2.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NjQ0LDE5

That's 4x AA and 8xAF, with a system more powerful than yours. View the results.

EDIT: Ok, I see you saw what happens at 8x =)

sabrewulf165 08-25-04 10:56 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Cheimison
I use 16x AF, and 8xS on 1600x1200 and FYI I get 40fps in the time demo on ultra quality, and 50-60 throughout most of the game. GeForce 6800 GT is the ****, man.

LOL **cough cough ** BULL****!! **cough cough cough** :D

Cheimison 08-25-04 11:09 PM

Re: Anybody else tried 2xQ AA?
 
Shows how much harder on a card Doom 3 is, because all my other games run perfectly at 8XS.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.