nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Riva TNT2 compatability (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=35855)

sjmoe 08-30-04 09:02 AM

Riva TNT2 compatability
 
Does anyone know if Riva TNT2 is compatible with Call of Duty. I recently purchased the game, loaded on PC and tried to play and get OpenGL errors. Says to update drivers which I did and still no luck.

If I can't use TNT2, what are my options?

ssj4goku887 08-30-04 09:55 AM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
dont think the tnt2 wil run that game. u will prolly need a new vcard

saturnotaku 08-30-04 09:56 AM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sjmoe
If I can't use TNT2, what are my options?

The TNT series of cards do not support hardware transform and lighting, which will make them incompatible with just about any modern game.

For less than US$100, you can purchase a GeForce4 Ti4200 which will give you all the power you need to play CoD. Use that as a stopgap until you can afford something more powerful.

Pantherman 09-02-04 09:18 PM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
I agree. the GeForce4 Ti 4200 is the best videocard for someone who just wants something to play some recent games. You can even play Doom III with it, but only at 800X600 with the detail turned down. Still, the game will look good and be playable. The TNT2 should be in a museum by now.

Pandora's Box 09-02-04 09:23 PM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherman
I agree. the GeForce4 Ti 4200 is the best videocard for someone who just wants something to play some recent games. You can even play Doom III with it, but only at 800X600 with the detail turned down. Still, the game will look good and be playable. The TNT2 should be in a museum by now.


in a museum? does on a shelf count as a museum? i have a tnt2 and a tnt m64 sitting on the shelf next to me. heh

bonchez 09-06-04 01:42 PM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
You're still running off that pos card, dude it's time for an upgrade.

ragejg 09-06-04 01:46 PM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
there's another nicer way to put that, bonchez... :-l

anzak 09-06-04 02:02 PM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bonchez
You're still running off that pos card, dude it's time for an upgrade.

You sure have room to talk with your FX 9500NU :rolleyes:

Anyways, newegg has a Radeon 9600 standard for $79 + free shipping Anyways, newegg has a Radeon 9600 standard for $79 + free shipping. The 9600 is faster than a GF4 Ti, supports DX9.0, and has much better image quality. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...164-022&depa=0 . The 9600 is faster than a GF4 Ti, supports DX9.0, and has much better image quality.

bonchez 09-06-04 02:20 PM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
So you're saying that a TNT2 is somehow better or on the same level as a 5900?

bonchez 09-06-04 02:26 PM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
I put 9500 on accident because my other computer has an ATI Radeon 9500 pro.

sedgy 09-12-04 06:12 AM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
The TNT2 is a great card. I used to have it, and it worked with call of duty! but only with the latest drivers from www.nvidia.com. so it should work.
btw it shouldnt be in a museum u foolz its the only card i havent had problems with and it runs everything. (except bf, doom, halo.) so there :P

Slyder 09-13-04 03:54 AM

Re: Riva TNT2 compatability
 
I had a TNT2 32meg card, and it wouldnt run much to be honest. A quick change to a cheap GeForce 2 MX solved all my problems, and this was some time ago.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.