nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=35913)

iammrfarrukh 08-31-04 03:16 AM

will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron
 
will a gforcefx 5200 graphics card work with a 2.6 ghz intel celeron. i hope it does bcuz i ordered the card. i ordered it bcuz my fps was really low in cs its only 10 when i m not moving when i move its like 5 or 6. could it just be bcuz of my ram my ram is 256 mb ddr. if u need any thing else to answer my quiesto=ion ask me plz.

Gamer1 08-31-04 05:44 AM

Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron
 
it should be able to, unless you bought an agp card and you don't have an agp slot...

bosox188 08-31-04 09:52 AM

Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron
 
Ok so you're upgrading to a 5200 because you're getting low fps? Well I'm guessing you have integrated graphics or something, is it a Dell? If it is, you probably don't have an AGP slot, I have a Dell and that was the problem with mine. You can get a PCI version of the 5200 but the best PCI card you can get is the Radeon 9100. The 5200 would be better than what you have now, but it's still crap. I know firsthand, check my sig.

ragejg 08-31-04 10:09 AM

Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron
 
Radeon 9100 128 bit (memory interface) is definitely the way to go for PCI...

So, however, do you have an AGP slot?

for CS, a 5200 is fine, as even the 64 bit 5200's perform on par with GF4 MX440, which in turn performs like a GF2 Ultra, which is in a sense a CS uber card...

Gator 08-31-04 10:20 AM

Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by iammrfarrukh
will a gforcefx 5200 graphics card work with a 2.6 ghz intel celeron. i hope it does bcuz i ordered the card. i ordered it bcuz my fps was really low in cs its only 10 when i m not moving when i move its like 5 or 6. could it just be bcuz of my ram my ram is 256 mb ddr. if u need any thing else to answer my quiesto=ion ask me plz.

We need to know if you have an AGP slot. Open the computer and you should have a few white slots, and then you may have a brown slot that is similar in size. If you have the brown slot that is similar in size to the white slots, then yes you have AGP. If you have AGP, get something more powerful than a FX5200. I'm not sure what your budget is, but for $130 you could get an FX5700, for $180 an FX5900XT, for $200 a Radeon 9800Pro, and for $280 a 6800NU.

If you only have white PCI slots, then get a Radeon 9100 128bit PCI. It is very important you get the 128bit version, Visiontek makes one. The 64bit version is much slower.

Pantherman 08-31-04 08:19 PM

Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron
 
The FX 5200 is a gaming disaster. Avoid at ALL COSTS!!!!!

grimreefer 08-31-04 08:59 PM

Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron
 
but 256mb ram is the least of your concerns....
u have a celeron and an crappy grafix card......
i don think a 5200 is much better than what u have now

iammrfarrukh 04-12-05 07:50 PM

Re: will gforce fx5200 work with a intel celeron
 
wow sorry guys i didnt reply to these, and i got the Nvidea geforce 4 fx 5200 and it works way better than my old built in graphics card, i get like 100-160 fps while playing counter-strike 1.6, i would recomend this if u play counter-strike 1.6 and i think i got a good deal, i got this for $79.00, dont u think its a good deal? or is it a rip off, oh and i got it about 4 or 5 months ago when i entered the thread


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.