nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   blakn screen when starting Xserver (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36354)

Michel 09-07-04 07:26 AM

black screen when starting Xserver
 
3 Attachment(s)
Heya all,

I just installed the latest NVIDIA-drivers. However when I start the Xserver, the screen turns black. Actually ... all virtual screens turn black. I cannot switch back to console since that one is black too ... I can only press ctrl+alt9delete as far as I know to reboot. I have attached my Xorg.0.log.old ... I compiled the kerlen interface.

[UPDATE]
It seems I first attached the nv-configuration .. I kno wuploaded the right configuration-files ...
The .old one is th not-working one where I load the glx-module and the other one is on ethat works without the glx-module

I'm using kernel 2.6.8.1 on archlinux.
The nv-driver works. I'll also attach my xorg.conf ...

Hope someone can help me with this ...

tx,

Michel

P.S.: it seems it will refuse my uploads because of the extension ... so I'll rename them, but can't the files be checked on the contents? Anyway ...

Michel 09-07-04 02:13 PM

Re: blakn screen when starting Xserver
 
It seems I first attached the wrong files .. I changed that now.

The glx-initialisation fails it seems ...
anyway I can get more info about it?

Michel

Michel 09-08-04 07:04 AM

Re: blakn screen when starting Xserver
 
Ok, last try :). I know there are a lot of threads on this forum about this. I tried some suggestions like disbaling AGP, setting it to agpart or something. I also tried specifying that I use a crt-monitor. Nothing works .. black screen. It seems I don't have 4kstacks compiled in my kernel.

So, any suggestions are welcome ...

comag 09-08-04 08:58 AM

Re: blakn screen when starting Xserver
 
had the same problem. in x11 conf file (etc/X11/xorg.conf) try the driver option:

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"

if the black screen remains remove the option: "ConnectedMonitor"
or try other values for this like "CRT-1", "CRT-0", "CRT"

good luck


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.