nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Doom 3 problem (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36592)

Kain 09-10-04 05:25 PM

Doom 3 problem
 
While playing the game, it sometimes crashes to the desktop. Why is this? I tried searching for updated graphics drivers but I did not find any. I was running it at 800x600 with Medium quality.

Kain 09-10-04 05:40 PM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
Okay, it also locks up in game sometimes too.

Nutty 09-11-04 04:57 AM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
Have you installed the patch? I seem to remember this was fixed in it.

BioHazZarD 09-11-04 05:01 AM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
I think your videocard cant handle the game.

Kain 09-11-04 05:44 AM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nutty
Have you installed the patch? I seem to remember this was fixed in it.

No I haven't installed the patch. Are you saying that you too had the same problem and that the patch fixed it?

Nutty 09-11-04 05:50 AM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
No I didn't have the problem.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36421

Quote:

STABILITY
- Fixed desktop crash when loading a QuickSave made when during influence in EPD Lab in Alphalabs 1
- Fixed game freezing if in-game MP menu is opened just after a change map vote
Passes and just before the map changes.
- Fixed duplicate player names shutting down a server during map changes

Mike1357 09-11-04 11:24 PM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BioHazZarD
I think your videocard cant handle the game.

Having a weak video card wouldn't make a game crash to desktop. it would just make it run like ass. plus, i run doom 3 on a GeForce 3... never crashed on me even on the test level with all the enemies (it runs at 1 fps)

Kain 09-12-04 12:25 AM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
The patch didn't help.

Kain 09-13-04 04:53 AM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
I searched on Google about this "Doom 3 crash problem" and it seems many people have this problem.

majortom 09-13-04 07:16 AM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
yo veeedee-oh cahd ees ah guh-lee mahn! (flex)

Zeta 09-13-04 10:51 AM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
My friend has a laptop with a 9800 moblie and it crashed out to the desktop unless he runs 640x480 with low detail. Basically the game is overheating the card. Farcry runs great on his laptop but Doom 3 kills it.

Nutty 09-13-04 12:34 PM

Re: Doom 3 problem
 
Sounds like stability issues with machines, that are only brought to surface via a demanding game.

Try some Prime95 tests, and select large FFT tables to force high memory usage.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.