nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Kt133 Agp (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36671)

vincentl 09-12-04 08:58 AM

Kt133 Agp
 
Hi.

I'm using a motherboard with the VIA KT133 chipset. According to http://www.via.com.tw/en/apollo/kt133.jsp , it supports 4x/2x AGP. However, the output of /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/host-bridge is:

Host Bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133]
Fast Writes: Not Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 2x 1x
Registers: 0x0f000203:0x00000302

This is the same with agpart and nvagp. I have tried to change the os-registry.c file to allow 4x on VIA chipsets, without success. I have also tried setting the AGPreq thing, unsuccessfully. Does anyone know what the problem might be?

Thunderbird 09-12-04 09:39 AM

Re: Kt133 Agp
 
Some older motherboards have some (stability) problems regarding AGP. That's why an agp speed of 4x is useally disabled and further why sba and fast writes are off. First the speed difference between 2x and 4x is very small so don't bother enabling it (the same for 4x and 8x on more recent boards).

vincentl 09-27-04 02:34 PM

Re: Kt133 Agp
 
Well, in case anyone else s wondering about this, it's possible to enable 4x by editing os-registry.c, as described in the driver README file. It works flawlessly for me, for some reason.

tekkie 09-28-04 06:31 PM

Re: Kt133 Agp
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vincentl
Hi.

I'm using a motherboard with the VIA KT133 chipset. According to http://www.via.com.tw/en/apollo/kt133.jsp , it supports 4x/2x AGP. However, the output of /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/host-bridge is:

Host Bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8363/8365 [KT133/KM133]
Fast Writes: Not Supported
SBA: Supported
AGP Rates: 2x 1x
Registers: 0x0f000203:0x00000302

This is the same with agpart and nvagp. I have tried to change the os-registry.c file to allow 4x on VIA chipsets, without success. I have also tried setting the AGPreq thing, unsuccessfully. Does anyone know what the problem might be?


Okay okay okay, Since I have the same chipset, I'll throw in my 2 cents.... :rolleyes:
1st, lets hope your board is a Gigabyte, since that what mine is. You need to go to the website and download the latest BIOS patch, and run it. This is also needed if you are to have any AMD processor higher than the XP1600+ (I think it's the 1600+). With this patch you will be able to configure AGP for 4X in BIOS, as well as slappin a lil bit better of a proc. into the baby. (Mind you the only reason I know this is because my proc. fan froze and killed my cpu) As far as I know, the max speed of proc is now the XP2600+ (2025MHz) with the new BIOS. Hope this helps...

tekkie 09-28-04 06:34 PM

Re: Kt133 Agp
 
Sorry, forgot to mention one more thing. They still manufactured the KT133 Chipset, I believe, and this would be why their website claims 4X. The older boards out there with the "Latest and Greatest" with the KT133 back in the day, only supported the 2X/1X. My board is the Gigabyte 7ZXE, which was purchased back in 2000. Hope this helps.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.