nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36678)

Rieper 09-12-04 12:03 PM

Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
I typically run at 1280x1024 4xAA in DOOM3 and get a steady 60fps, and 30+ when there is mass action. But for some reason, my Geforce 6800GT can't handle simple smoke algorithms?

http://img75.exs.cx/img75/2982/doom3.jpg

I drop to 20FPS and gameplay gets really choppy. Even if I turn off 4xAA, I still get a massive drop when smoke shows in DOOM3.

Is this indicative of the GeForce series, or am I doing something wrong? I am currently using the 66.31 which definitely showed improvement in DOOM3 for me anyways...

Thanks in advance for any help.

-Steven

Princey 09-12-04 12:31 PM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
Yeah its the same for me on my Radeon 9700pro :(

BioHazZarD 09-12-04 12:43 PM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
Thats really odd, i thought because maybe too little ram but 1gb should be more then enough and with a 6800 i dont know really. Other games like about the same ?

Killall 09-12-04 03:38 PM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
Im having the same thing.

SPIKY_FRE 09-12-04 07:28 PM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
exactly the same problem here
and it gets pretty damn annoying when you in a big room + smoke + enemies :retard:

superklye 09-12-04 07:33 PM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
If you're using dual monitors, you need to set OpenGL for "single display"

karkrash81 09-12-04 08:47 PM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
how do you do that???

[Oblivion] 09-14-04 02:46 AM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
never had a problem with smoke in doom 3 with my 6800 gt (stock)

i was using the 62.20 beta's though last time i went on it

jAkUp 09-14-04 03:19 AM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
Yes it is a known problem with doom3 and dual monitors...

Rieper 09-14-04 07:11 AM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jAkUp
Yes it is a known problem with doom3 and dual monitors...

No dual monitors here. But I will wait to try the next beta drivers from nvidia.

SPIKY_FRE 09-14-04 07:46 AM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
single display mode was on here,
and still these annoying slowdowns

really makes me wonder why I bought a 6800gt, my previous 9800pro would have had about the same drops, bah :retard:

|JuiceZ| 09-14-04 07:54 AM

Re: Anyone getting massive fps loss in DOOM3?
 
How'd did you possibly miss the D3 forum :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.