nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Gfroce Ti 4200 Twinview wont work (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36831)

law 09-15-04 03:57 AM

Gfroce Ti 4200 Twinview wont work
 
hi,

i have tryed to get my "new" geforce ti 4200 to work with my tv. but only one device is alway active.

if i enable this 2 options only my tv works.

Code:

Option      "MetaModes" "CRT-0: 1280x1024,  TV-0: 640x480"
#      Option      "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
#      Option      "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"

if i this able them only my monitor works :bash:

here is my whole xorg.conf

Code:

# XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

Section "ServerLayout"
 Identifier    "single head configuration"
# Identifier    "TwinView"
# Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
 Screen        "Screen0"
 InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
 InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
        RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
        FontPath    "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "fbdevhw"
        Load  "glx"
# edit by me
#        Load  "dri"
        Load  "GLcore"
        Load  "record"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "type1"
        Load  "v4l"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
#        Option        "Xleds"                "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
#        Option        "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#        Option        "XkbModel"        "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#        Option        "XkbModel"        "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#        Option        "XkbLayout"        "de"
# or:
#        Option        "XkbLayout"        "de"
#        Option        "XkbVariant"        "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#        Option        "XkbOptions"        "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
#        Option        "XkbOptions"        "ctrl:nocaps"
#
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "keyboard"

        Option            "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option            "XkbLayout" "de"
        Option            "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option            "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        Option            "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option            "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
        Option            "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
        Identifier  "DevInputMice"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option            "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        Option            "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
        Option            "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
        Option            "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier  "Monitor0"
        VendorName  "Monitor Vendor"
        ModelName    "Monitor 1280x1024"
        HorizSync    31.5 - 79.0
        VertRefresh  50.0 - 90.0
        Option            "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"

        Driver      "nvidia"
        Identifier  "Videocard0"
#        Driver      "nv"
        VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
        BoardName  "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
# edit by me
#        Option            "TwinView" "true"
#        Option            "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
#        Option            "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
#        Option            "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
#        Option            "SecondConnectedMonitor" "TV"
#        Option      "MetaModes" "CRT-0: 1280x1024,  TV-0: 640x480"
#        Option            "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
#        Option            "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
#        Option      "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
#        Option      "NODDC" "true"

EndSection

Section "Screen"
 Identifier "Screen0"
 Device    "Videocard0"
 Monitor    "Monitor0"
 DefaultDepth    24
 SubSection "Display"
  Depth    24
  Modes    "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
 EndSubSection
EndSection

#edit by me
Section "DRI"
 Group        0
 Mode        0666
EndSection

i am using fedora core 2 perhabs someone can help me. or is there an good howto in the inet?

comag 09-15-04 04:02 AM

Re: Gfroce Ti 4200 Twinview wont work
 
try CRT-0 or CRT-1 instead of CRT and remove the CRT-0 and TV-0 things from the Metamodes

here is my part:
Code:

            Option            "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
            Option            "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"       
          Option            "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
          Option            "TVStandard" "PAL-G"
        Option            "TVOverScan" "1.0"       
        Option            "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-1, TV-0"
            Option            "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
        Option            "MetaModes" "1280x1024, 800x600@1280x1024"


law 09-15-04 04:28 AM

Re: Gfroce Ti 4200 Twinview wont work
 
juhu thank you it works, but on my tv now i only see the upper left corner of my workspace. how is it possible to see the whole desktop?

comag 09-15-04 03:30 PM

Re: Gfroce Ti 4200 Twinview wont work
 
i got the same problem and i think its only possible if TV and CRT have the same resolution.
but i use tv-out only for videos-playback and if you install nvtv the screen will auto-fullscreen the video-overlay on xine. (using "xine -T nvtv").

dunno if you can do it easier, but here is my way:
-- INSTALLATION
- download and install nvtv (includes nvtv and nvtvd)
- compile xine-ui with nvtvsimple support (watch configure messages)

-- PLAYBACK
- start nvtvd
- start "xine -T nvtv"
- start playback -> choose fullscreen (tv will switch to video-overlay)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.