nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   FarCry settings-personal preference (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36976)

Buck Armstrong 09-17-04 11:17 PM

FarCry settings-personal preference
 
I just got a eVGA 6800 GT, running at 400/1.12. So I'm playing with different FarCry settings, and am curious what everyone else uses? Do you prefer higher resolution at the cost of lower AA & AF, or vice versa?

I'm finding that even OCed, with all other settings max quality, I have to pick between:
-1600x1200 w/2xAA & 4xAF
-1280x1024 w/4xAA & 8xAF

Still not sure which I like better...or if I can even tell a difference. :)

P4 3C GHz Northwood
Intel 875PBZ
1 GB Corsair TwinX-3200XL 2-2-2-5
eVGA GF 6800 GT @400/1.12 (65.76)
SB Audigy 2 ZS
120 GB WD Caviar SE SATA 7200rpm

FarCry patch 1.2 w/SM3.0 enabled.

jAkUp 09-17-04 11:26 PM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
Take the higher resolution :)

Buck Armstrong 09-17-04 11:30 PM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jAkUp
Take the higher resolution :)

So you play at 1600x1200? What AA/AF? Everything else highest quality?

jAkUp 09-17-04 11:34 PM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
Yes... I play all games at 1600x1200 2x/4x

Games just look better to my eyes with higher resolutions, not the mention the text is smaller and doesnt block up as much of the screen... I like that :)

Edge 09-17-04 11:35 PM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
In that case, I'd say take the higher resolution. If it was 1600x1200 WITHOUT any AA, then I would've suggested the lower res with less effects. But as long as you can use at least some AA at 1600x1200, that should be more than enough.

Ghostguy 09-17-04 11:36 PM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
All games @1280 with 8xAF. Im also using sm 3.0 on Far Cry.

Rytr 09-17-04 11:48 PM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
1024x768 has been my favorite resolution setting for some time but I am starting to migrate to 1280x1024 on my 19" monitor at 75Hz. FarCry looks good at both resolutions with 4xAA/8xAF, everything in-game set to high or above.

shaker718 09-18-04 12:48 AM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
i've been wanting to buy far cry but the damn demo looks like sh!t. anyone else having this problem? if its on another thread then sorry for the repetition, but the demo looks corrupted (no water, clipping floating stuff etc) and im afraid that if i shell out the money for the full version that it'll look the same.

therapture 09-18-04 01:24 AM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by shaker718
i've been wanting to buy far cry but the damn demo looks like sh!t. anyone else having this problem? if its on another thread then sorry for the repetition, but the demo looks corrupted (no water, clipping floating stuff etc) and im afraid that if i shell out the money for the full version that it'll look the same.



No, the original install of FC looks like that (crap) on the 6800's....you NEED to install the 1.1 patch (or 1.2) and it fixes those llama issues you describe.....

Buck Armstrong 09-18-04 01:55 AM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by shaker718
i've been wanting to buy far cry but the damn demo looks like sh!t. anyone else having this problem? if its on another thread then sorry for the repetition, but the demo looks corrupted (no water, clipping floating stuff etc) and im afraid that if i shell out the money for the full version that it'll look the same.

I just finished Doom 3 a couple days ago, and am about 4 levels in to FarCry. And IMO, Doom 3 was great but FarCry is better.

Not only does it not look like sh*t...its the most visually appealing game I've ever seen. Its like taking an armed vacation in the South Pacific. :)

Subtestube 09-18-04 02:41 AM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by therapture
No, the original install of FC looks like that (crap) on the 6800's....you NEED to install the 1.1 patch (or 1.2) and it fixes those llama issues you describe.....


If you want *some* idea of what it'll actually look like (I gather the demo doesn't have all the advanced shaders in it anyhow...), get 3d-Analyze from Here, select the Farcry executable, and change your device ID to either a Radeon 9800 or a GF 5900... then the effects will work. Not quite as well as they should, but they do work.

ynnek 09-18-04 03:21 AM

Re: FarCry settings-personal preference
 
What do you mean, not as quite as well as they should? Quality wise it should look perfect with 2.0

Performance wise, I guess shader 3.0 should give some more performance boost.. if it ever comes out for FC.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Subtestube
If you want *some* idea of what it'll actually look like (I gather the demo doesn't have all the advanced shaders in it anyhow...), get 3d-Analyze from Here, select the Farcry executable, and change your device ID to either a Radeon 9800 or a GF 5900... then the effects will work. Not quite as well as they should, but they do work.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.