nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Please help with game pausing/lag problem (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=37118)

astondg 09-20-04 07:31 AM

Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Hello,
I have this system:
- Athlon 64 3800+
- ASUS A8V Deluxe (BIOS: 1005.027, VIA Driver: 4.51)
- Corsair 1GB XMS 3200XL
- XFX 6800 Ultra (Driver: 65.73)
- Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
- Western Digital 200GB SATA HDD
- Windows XP Service Pack 2
- Please let me know if any other specs are required

I just installed Colin McRae Rally 04 (also with other games so read on) and I am having a problem with it pausing or freezing for about 1 second at seemingly random times. This happens with the graphics settings on maximum or minimum and even on maximum I get 150fps to 250fps (using Fraps) most of the time and it drops to 80fps when this pause occurs. I have the latest patch for CMR 04 and I checked the Codemaster's website where they said that this could be caused by EAX so they said to add either NOEAX or NOHARDWARESOUND to the shortcut but I have tried both and neither seems to work.

I have also tried Midtown Madness 2 and it seems to have the same problem. FarCry may also have the same problem, it is hard to tell but it seems that every now and then it has a slight pause even on the lowest graphics settings. I have also tried Doom 3, Soldier of Fortune II, and Half-Life and none of these games have this problem.

I have checked the CPU and motherboard temperatures with ASUS PC Probe and they were 48C - 50C and 33 - 35C, the video card I am not so sure about because I can't check it while I am in game (ASUS PC Probe lets me record the temps) but I ran Doom 3 in window mode and I can't remember the exact temperature but it was under 80C.

I have tried setting my XFX 6800 Ultra from it's stock 425/1200 speeds to 402/1100 (for both 2D and 3D) and I have tried setting "Max Frames to Render Ahead" to 1 but neither of these has any effect. I also have AGP Fastwrites set to off.

Does this sound like a graphics card related problem? What should I be checking/doing now?

Thankyou,

Aston

saturnotaku 09-20-04 08:01 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
There's a big sticky thread in the NVIDIA forum regarding the 6800 and random freezes. Check that for information and possible solutions.

astondg 09-20-04 09:13 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Thanks, I did check that post and did a search before I posted but I tried most of the solutions I found and they didn't seem to help. Also my problem seems to be only in CMR 04, Midtown Madness, and FarCry. I think this is different from the other posts? I am also thinking that this might not be a graphics problem (because Codemasters mentioned a known EAX problem, but then their fix didn't work?), any opinions?

Aston

CaptNKILL 09-20-04 09:35 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Well all of the games that you have the problem in are Direct 3d (im pretty sure) and all of the ones that you dont are OpenGL.

Doesnt seem hardware related to me.

Check the programs you have running... antivirus, auto-updates, messengers etc.

Try some different display driver versions (uninstall the current ones first).

Try those and see what happens.

Smokey 09-20-04 03:48 PM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Just to let you know, I havent had any problems regarding EAX on my Audigy2 ZS, using the latest drivers....oh I tell a lie, since using the latest drivers, I have had the odd scratching noise when playing CoD, but nothing major, and no pauses in any games.

I think Capt is on the right track.

Head_slinger 09-20-04 04:31 PM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Hi,

I was having similar problems in Colin McRae, WinAmp seems to blow it down so dont have it running, as does Outlook. Best thing to check is what you have running in the tray.

astondg 09-21-04 03:54 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Ok, I have tried these drivers:
- 61.77
- 65.62
- 65.73
- 66.32

Unfortunately none of them made any difference to my problem. Each time I uninstalled the old drivers in "Add Remove Programs" and then went into Safe Mode and ran "Detonator RIP", then installed the new drivers.

One thing I did notice while testing all these drivers is that a couple of times when it froze I heard a beep. I am not sure if it was from the soundcard and speakers or the computer speaker but it definately was not part of CMR 04 and not meant to happen. I don't know if this could help identify the problem?

When I run CMR 04 and the other games I have in the tray:
- ASUS PC Probe
- Logitech iTouch
- A HP Printer icon thing
- Disabled Norton Antivirus icon
- Creative Volume Control

There are other programs running in the background that I can see in the Task Manager, e.g. InCD, but I don't really want to just end the process and stuff something up.

I don't have any programs like Outlook, Winamp, or Messenger running.

Any other ideas about what it could be or what I can try?

EDIT: Head_slinger I just realised we have very similar systems, the biggest difference is the video card. So you aren't having problems anymore?

Thanks,

Aston

CaptNKILL 09-21-04 04:55 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Try this:
Go into msconfig (im assuming you know how to get there... start\run:msconfig) uncheck everything from your startup, then restart. I know, this isnt a good idea for every day use, but you can always go back and check them again, this is just for testing purposes.

Uncheck them all, restart, try the games again with nothing running.

astondg 09-21-04 06:18 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Ok, when I uncheck everything in the "Startup" section and a couple of the things in the "Services" section and I start the game with the NOEAX or NOHARDWARESOUND options then CMR 04 seems to work ok. I suppose the next step is to enable things one by one, that's going to take a while :( . I might try reinstalling the soundcard drivers first.

Thanks,

Aston

CaptNKILL 09-21-04 06:31 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by astondg
Ok, when I uncheck everything in the "Startup" section and a couple of the things in the "Services" section and I start the game with the NOEAX or NOHARDWARESOUND options then CMR 04 seems to work ok. I suppose the next step is to enable things one by one, that's going to take a while :( . I might try reinstalling the soundcard drivers first.

Thanks,

Aston

Generally, you want to avoid doing 2 things at once. Maybe, enable EAX and hardware sound with all the programs off and see if the problem is still gone. If it is, dont reinstall sound drivers... the less you do, the less complicated thnigs will get.

I wouldnt mess with the drivers yet. Narrow it down first by enabling things. If its sound related, then reinstall sound drivers.

Might want to try enabling the virus scanner first to see if that brings the problem back... right now thats what id say it was.

Anyway, im glad my advice helped this much... if the problem still persists when you disable all running programs, then you usually have a lot of work ahead of you :p

DJMONDY 09-21-04 06:46 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Apart from the pausing problems hows it run far cry, doom 3 etc??

Im waiting for my XFX 6800U to arrive any day now :)

astondg 09-21-04 07:26 AM

Re: Please help with game pausing/lag problem
 
Far Cry runs fine at high detail, I haven't really played it that much because I am waiting to see if SM3.0 support is included (again :) ). In Doom 3 with the standard card (425mhz/1200mhz), 65.73 drivers, at 1280x1024, in game settings on High Quality (I think includes 8x AF), all "Advanced Settings" set to yes - except vsync, and 4x AA, I ran timedemo demo1 and got 53fps. In game I haven't had any problems with the frame rate and it looks amazing.

Except for this problem (which it seems is not video card related anyway) this is a very nice video card.

EDIT: I see a lot of people are benchmarking Doom 3 without AA so I just ran two more benchmarks without AA
1024x768 - 95.1fps
1280x1024 - 80.7fps

Aston


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.