nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Redhat 8.0 slowdown problems.. (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=3744)

ajmould 11-07-02 10:17 AM

Redhat 8.0 slowdown problems..

Aaaagh! This is so weird. I have the following setup: -

AMD Athlon Tbird 1.4Ghz
ECS K7S5A Motherboard
512Mb 133Mhz SDRam
Western Digital Caviar SE8Mb 120Gb
Creative Nvidia Geforce 4 Ti4200
Soundblaster Live! Value
Adaptec SCSI card
Yamaha 16x 10x 40x SCSI CDWriter
Hitatchi DVD-ROM

Redhat seems to randomly slow down on me and I've no idea what is causing it. Sometimes it's at log on, and sometimes it's just when I start an application. It just feels really laggy. Please bear in mind that I am a relative newbie when replying (only 1 week old!)

I have redhat set up with 100Mb for boot, 1024Mb for swap and 27Gb as /.

Thanks.:)

ajmould 11-07-02 10:19 AM

Oh, and I've installed the latest Nvidia drivers. (Grins with pride).

de><ta 11-07-02 02:22 PM

what kind of an application are you firing up, if it is ut2k3 yeah i share the same problem, but if it is general such as terminal or file manager etc. then something is wrong.

Basically is some background process running which is chewing up your cpu time. I forgot wether it is ps -v or ps -l k ??? . In window2k you can see the thread and cpu time allocation but in linux you can actually manage it ;) :D

but try typing "man ps" and see the option which allows you to monitor how your kernel is allocating the cpu threads or active thread processes (i am not sure if it works on all versions of linux or only on turbo linux???).
Once i had that problem when i set up an active background and had its thread priority at full. It made my system slow every time i moved my mouse:D and i got worried it was some virus on linux !!!

ajmould 11-08-02 03:11 PM