nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=37658)

slapperboy 09-28-04 06:50 PM

On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt
 
When I boot my system, the linux file systems are read only.

The boot process stops at an init-2.05# prompt.

I can not boot into normal Redhat multiuser mode.

no login

whig 09-28-04 10:16 PM

Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt
 
Remount filesystems rw and init 3. Check /etc/inittab to be sure it contains your desired default runlevel.

slapperboy 09-28-04 11:48 PM

Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt
 
When i #mount
the root filesystem /dev/sda1 or / says that it is rw
but if i create a file with vi or edit a file with vi it stipulates that the filesystem is read only.

could someone give me a mount command to put this thing into a read write state

whig 09-29-04 04:45 AM

Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt
 
mount / -o remount,rw

(in single user mode; and you may need to specify filesystem type with -t)

slapperboy 09-29-04 11:29 PM

Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt
 
I used the # mount -t ext3 /dev/sda1 / -o remount,rw

command...work great....root filesystem is now rw

I cant change the runlevel to 3 using the init or telinit command

If I # init 3

I get command not found.

Same with telinit even though I know it is /sbin

AM I waisting my time trying to get to multiuser mode.

After I did a successful remount rw

When I type # ls in /tmp I get a modprode cant find ppp0
message.

I still am a mile from a normal boot with a login

I need help

whig 09-30-04 12:22 AM

Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt
 
Yes, init and telinit are both in /sbin, but they might not be in the path your system looks for executables. So type either /sbin/init or ./init from the sbin directory.

I don't about the /tmp message... sounds like your system is damaged somehow (it happens). Backup your important data because if your linux is screwed you may need to do a reinstall. Or it could be because windows has taken over your master boot record... got to hate that.

slapperboy 09-30-04 12:40 AM

Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt
 
The init command is not in the /sbin directory.?

Can I reinstall without loosing my data?

Can I repair my master boot record?

Or Am I toast and start again?

whig 09-30-04 04:36 AM

Re: On Linux boot I get a init-2.05 prompt
 
init and telinit ought to be in /sbin - you have a strange system otherwise. To boot normally you need init.

It is possible to reinstall without losing data, often distributions have an upgrade option. If that option isn't there your backup strategy depends on the partitions and free space on your harddisk. A cd-writer would come in handy here - to be extra sure because specify a wrong partition and you could say goodbye to the data on it.

To reset the mbr is straight-forward, just that you need to know whether it is lilo or grub that loads Linux. Do you have a /boot/grub directory? Or the file /etc/lilo.conf? Then head to the documentation.

Starting over depends if any of the above helps your situation. Do a backup first then try for a repair would be safest. Good luck.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.