nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Rumor Mill (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Geforce 6200 spec? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=37914)

AthlonXP1800 10-01-04 10:40 PM

Geforce 6200 spec?
 
I spotted 6200 in official Forceware 66.81 driver, to my surprise, the 6200 is based on NV43 core. What is Geforce 6200 spec? I believe Geforce 6200 card will be the same card as Geforce 6600, it will be half the memory and core speed of 6600. I guess it will use 8x1 pipeline or 4x2 pipeline because I think Nvidia will not go back to 4x1 pipeline cos it will be too slow for future games. I am sure 6200 will be overclock to 6600 level without use softmod because it will use the same card, core and memory chips.

aAv7 10-01-04 10:46 PM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
wait, wait, wait...so is this gonna take over for the low-end market, pushing the 5200 out of the way?

Subtestube 10-01-04 11:22 PM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
My guess is that the 5200 will become like the GF 4 MX series - they're still around now, even though the actual budget option is only slightly more expensive.

anzak 10-02-04 12:33 AM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
I am sure the 6200 will be a 4x1 card w/ 2 or 3 vertex units. It should be about double the performance of the 5200. I guess nvidia is going to use the same NV43 core on the 6200 which should make it modable into a 6600 (8x1).

MUYA 10-02-04 01:05 AM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
with teh nv40 designed the way it is...(I might be wrong here) I don't think a 4x2 architecture can be done. NV40 for intent and purposes acts like 16X1 through it 's 4 quad PS engine. Each part of the quad engine has 1 TMU on one of 2 shader units (guess) in a pixel processing pipeline. This was done so for modularity. hence the ULtra & GT = 4 quad, normal 6800 = 3 quad, 6600XX = 2 quad and maybe the 6200 (nv44? nv41?) is 1 quad?

AthlonXP1800 10-02-04 03:18 AM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MUYA
6200 (nv44? nv41?) is 1 quad?

No 6200 is NV43, the line below is from new Forceware 66.81 driver:

Quote:

NVIDIA_NV43.DEV_014F.1 = "NVIDIA GeForce 6200"
I guess you are right with 1 quad, like NV40's 6800 have 3 quad with 1 quad disabled than the Ultra and GT's 4 quad. NV43's 6200 could have 1 quad with 1 quad disabled than the 6600's 2 quad.

msxyz 10-02-04 03:47 AM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
Maybe they're using defected chips ? I believe that 146 M transistors are a little too many for a value part.

But when the .11 u process will get past its infancy stage, the yelds are likely to rise to the point there will not be enough cores for the high volume, entry level market.

My guess is that this is only a transition stage. Probably the NV4x entry level GPU will be a 2 ROPs / 4 Pipes design with only 1 VShader and no Intellisample framebuffer compression. This would keep the transistor count down to ~70-80 milion with a much smaller die.

PS: NV41 is rumored to be a cost-effective, .11u replacement for the 6800NU with a 8/12 pipeline design and 256 bit bus; something designed to take the 250$ spot. Probably the next entry level GPU will be codenamed NV44.

SH64 10-11-04 08:28 AM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
Woha .. have you guys seen the 6200 preview ??
http://www.nvnews.net/previews/geforce_6200/index.shtml

thats some crazy overclocking results !! :eek:

saturnotaku 10-11-04 08:48 AM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
Could you imagine if this card could be soft-modded to a 6600 on top of those crazy overclocking results? Wow. :eek:

msxyz 10-11-04 10:47 AM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
Well my speculation that color compression was not included into the 6200 was confirmed :D Still 4 ROPs, though.

AthlonXP1800 10-11-04 02:53 PM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by msxyz
Well my speculation that color compression was not included into the 6200 was confirmed :D Still 4 ROPs, though.

Not surprised to see it still 4x1 pipeline but you can still soft modded it to 4x2 and enabled color compression. :D

msxyz 10-11-04 04:13 PM

Re: Geforce 6200 spec?
 
Too bad only those with a PCIe mobo will have the chance to play with this card. :rant:

I'm even starting to loose my hopes to see a 6600 AGP anytime soon


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.