nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Gaming Central (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Poor Far Cry performance (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=37972)

bonchez 10-02-04 08:57 PM

Poor Far Cry performance
 
If you look at my system specs in my signature below you can see what I'm running. I get more video lag than I think I should on Far Cry, look at these screenshots and tell me what I can do. Oh, just so you know these were taken at 1024X768 and medium quality on everything, I've put the resolution and quality lower and higher it still runs the same.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...z/FarCry22.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...ez/FarCry1.jpg

aAv7 10-02-04 09:04 PM

Re: Poor Far Cry performance
 
That whole outside section on the boat, and then ontop of the boat is cpu limited...your gpu isnt being used much in these spots (notice in these sections your card cools off considerably). People with x800xt's and FX-53's have low fps in these areas....but again, they are running everythin maxed out which is even more stressing.

myshkinbob 10-02-04 11:23 PM

Re: Poor Far Cry performance
 
It's definitely your cpu. When i got my GT for my old xp2400+ system, i got the same fps dips on the carrier and in training too as i did with my ti4200. Got an a64 which runs at only 200mhz more, i get massively better framerates on that level. Screen below is resized, i took it at 1600x1200 2xAA 8xAF, all the ingame options at VHigh water UHigh, but i didn't want to widen the thread with a huge image, so it's resized to 1024x.

http://www.vapulus.com/FarCry0002.jpg

Far cry really needs a good cpu for a steady framerate, it's the most cpu intensive game around, as far as i know.

Kickus_assius 10-03-04 12:58 AM

Re: Poor Far Cry performance
 
I have to say that I disagree. I can easily get 40-50 FPS on that level with a 9500 PRO and 2500+ Barton @ 2.0GHz on that same exact part on medium settings 1024x768. I think it has to do with his settings somehow or the 5900 sucks ass.

MikeC 10-03-04 07:58 AM

Re: Poor Far Cry performance
 
From X-bit Labs:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...arcry30_6.html

AMD Athlon 64 3400+

http://www.xbitlabs.com/images/video...e_training.gif


From the Tech Report:
http://www.techreport.com/etc/2004q3...y/index.x?pg=1

AMD Athlon 64 3400+, Far Cry v1.1

http://www.techreport.com/reviews/20...800/farcry.gif

Riptide 10-03-04 09:28 AM

Re: Poor Far Cry performance
 
Yeah, that area is CPU limited especially in certain spots like up on the top of the deck. There were several threads about this around the time the 6800/XT became available doing performance comparisons and that's the conclusion that was pretty much reached.

bmg 10-03-04 10:24 AM

Re: Poor Far Cry performance
 
How do you enable that stats display in the upper right corner?

myshkinbob 10-03-04 12:05 PM

Re: Poor Far Cry performance
 
press ~ (on US keyboards it's ~, here in the uk it's `, but the key to the left of 1 whatever your locale) and type "\r_displayinfo 1" no quotes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.