nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=39545)

jason591 10-27-04 05:36 PM

geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
ok i just got one cos its all i could afford at the moment but now when i boot up it says theres a power problem so its switching to a lower setting to stop my system from freezing up!! its running at like 60 mhz clock speed right now!!! it says on the box it only needs 250 v of power and thats what my system has!!! so whys it doing this? can anyone help?
i dont wanna buy more power cos thats costs more than the card!!!

ragejg 10-27-04 05:43 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
250 Watts you mean?

... is your power connector plugged in on the video card?

... are you runing lotsa fans and HD's with that PSU?

... what are your system specs?

jason591 10-27-04 05:54 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
250 watts yes
power connector? hows that work? (im dumb i know lol) i just plugged it into the agp slot
ive got a 1.2 athlon 386 sdram and ive got only one hd

ragejg 10-27-04 05:55 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
theres a plug on the back of the card that one of your power supply leads needs to be plugged into... check it out, give it a whirl, and keep in touch.

jason591 10-27-04 08:35 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
ok i connected the plug to the back and its speeded it up but not to full speed
according to rivatuner its running at
core clock 58
memory clock 171
which is obviously well short of whats required
maybe im just gonna have to sell this card and buy another!!
btw ive only got one fan in my system and a dvd player and cd burner thats it~~!!
i tried disconecting the dvd player but that did nothing!!!

NightFire 10-27-04 09:20 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
How many hard drives do you have, and what type of CPU?


Alternatively, you could try OC'ing the card manually up to the specs listed on wherever you bought it, but I wouldn't reccommend doing it.

ragejg 10-27-04 09:37 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jason591
ive got a 1.2 athlon 386 sdram and ive got only one hd

.

jason591 10-27-04 09:54 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
i guess its ebay here i come to sell it and buy another different card any suggestions? maybe ill get a ti4600 are they ok power-wise?

ragejg 10-27-04 10:06 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
What brand is the 5600U that you have? What shape are the ram chips?

jason591 10-27-04 10:51 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
its a pny technologies card

jason591 10-27-04 11:07 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
ok ive just downloaded the new rivatuner and it says my 3d is runing at 400/800 maybe its fixed!!! is there any other way to check?

jason591 10-27-04 11:08 PM

Re: geforce 5600 ultra 128mb power problem!!!
 
it lets me overclock the driver settings but the target adapter settings cant be overclocked is that right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.