nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=41334)

I/JG53_Jaguar 11-24-04 08:11 AM

FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
I'm aware that nForce 4 motherboard uses PCI Express; Is there some kind of converter out there so that I can use my AGPx8 FX5950Ultra with it ? I really don't want to get a new card though I do want to upgrade my CPU and motherboard (currently using AMD XP 2700+ with Asus nForce 2 Deluxe; I want to go to AMD FX55 with Asus nForce 4 Ultra).

MUYA 11-24-04 08:15 AM

Re: FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
I am afraid you are out of luck mate. U need to get a PCIe card plain and simple.

I/JG53_Jaguar 11-24-04 08:43 AM

Re: FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
If that's the case then I will most probably go with MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce 3 motherboard as this one has AGP8 and as well as support for AMD FX55 CPU what I want to get...

saturnotaku 11-24-04 09:43 AM

Re: FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by I/JG53_Jaguar
If that's the case then I will most probably go with MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce 3 motherboard as this one has AGP8 and as well as support for AMD FX55 CPU what I want to get...

Good plan if you want to overclock. Bad if you ever want to use a floppy drive.

WarheadMM 11-24-04 10:33 AM

Re: FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
There will be a budget Nforce 4 mobo with AGP on it.....and it only supports the socket 754 cpu's

MUYA 11-24-04 07:14 PM

Re: FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by WarheadMM
There will be a budget Nforce 4 mobo with AGP on it.....and it only supports the socket 754 cpu's

I heard those rumours too..but exactly when will they debut? ...that is the question

Cota 11-24-04 07:56 PM

Re: FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
we already have nforce3 no need for nforce4 agp

saturnotaku 11-24-04 08:22 PM

Re: FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by WarheadMM
There will be a budget Nforce 4 mobo with AGP on it.....and it only supports the socket 754 cpu's

That seems kind of pointless. But I guess it's necessary if the Sempron line stays on S754. But no enthusiast in his right mind would pick one of those boards up right now.

WarheadMM 11-24-04 09:51 PM

Re: FX 5950 Ultra with nForce 4 motherboard ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MUYA
I heard those rumours too..but exactly when will they debut? ...that is the question

sometime next year i belive


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.