nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   PCX5900 into Quadro FX1300 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=42660)

ofelas 12-18-04 09:36 PM

PCX5900 into Quadro FX1300
 
Is it possible to SoftQuadro a PCX5900 into a (PCI-e) Quadro FX1300?
Thanks...

ricercar 12-18-04 11:04 PM

Re: PCX5900 into Quadro FX1300
 
There are sites that claim it is possible, but they are wrong. Since at least 2001 the Quadro series use internal bonding options that make it impossible to change a GeForce into a Quadro.

You can relatively easily change a BIOS to make a card report as a Quadro. It's somewhat more difficult to change board straps to identlfy as a Quadro, but unless you have a chip capper (>$1 million USD) You ain't gonna be making your GeForce into a real Quadro.

Imagine a Honda owner placing a nameplate on his car to say V-TEC. Regardless of what shows to the public, the internals of the car are not V-Tec unless you actually change the engine. Same with Quadro.

saturnotaku 12-19-04 08:30 AM

Re: PCX5900 into Quadro FX1300
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ricercar
Imagine a Honda owner placing a nameplate on his car to say V-TEC. Regardless of what shows to the public, the internals of the car are not V-Tec unless you actually change the engine. Same with Quadro.

But you're forgetting, just adding the V-TEC plate adds 25 horsepower right there! (xmastong)

ofelas 12-19-04 08:43 AM

Re: PCX5900 into Quadro FX1300
 
Not to mention that every V-Tec decal adds 5 rear wheel horse...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.