nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   NVIDIA, GLX problems (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=42941)

Patrick_ 12-24-04 10:11 AM

NVIDIA, GLX problems
 
I've been having trouble with the NVIDIA driver and GLX for a while now. I had 6629, now have 6111.

I have Gentoo linux.

Here's my problem. The nv driver works fine. But as soon as I load the nvidia driver, the graphics are horrible... major discoloration, lines, etc etc.

I ran glxgears. Its giving me a Segmentation Fault and "Could not load mathcing GLX Library, couldn't find RGB" etc.

So anyway, today I tried installing the 6111 driver. I have nvidia-kernel, glx, and settings 6111 emerged. I get this error message:

ERROR: Unable to load the kernel module 'nvidia.ko'. This is most likely
because the kernel module was built using the wrong kernel source files.
Please make sure you have installed the kernel source files for your
kernel; on Red Hat Linux systems, for example, be sure you have the
'kernel-source' rpm installed. If you know the correct kernel source
files are installed, you may specify the kernel source path with the
'--kernel-source-path' commandline option.
-> Kernel module load error: insmod: error inserting './usr/src/nv/nvidia.ko':
-1 Unknown symbol in module


How do I do this in Gentoo? I'm sort of a newbie. This is really ticking me off! Can anyone PLEASE help me? Here's my xorg.conf and log. I've tried changing it so many times.

http://thepcelement.com/hardware/xorg.conf
http://thepcelement.com/hardware/Xorg.0.log

Thanks! (xmassign2

Arawn 12-31-04 10:28 AM

Re: NVIDIA, GLX problems
 
Have you run 'emerge sync'?

If you did, you've probably gotten a newer version of your kernel source. From there you really have 2 options

Recompile your kernel from the updated source, then install the nvidia modules
change the symlink for /usr/src/linux to point to the version you're running and re-emerge nvidia stuff.

edit:
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
If memory serves (in win ATM and can't connect to Nvidia FTP) RenderAccel is classed as experimental. I would suggest you worry about getting it running properly before you start tweaking.

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
EndSection

You might want to at least set your horizontal and vertical refresh rates, just to make sure you don't pick a mode thats out of spec and fry your monitor (Yeah, I know that's a really cool whine and the puff of smoke looks nice, but can be an expensive way to experiment)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.