nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=44061)

flx 01-15-05 07:00 AM

help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!!
 
Well, some time ago, my brother was trying to play Warcraft 3 in our amdAthlon 1500+ 512 ram with a geforce 4 mx 440 with its full 64mb working on winXP pro sp1.

He was experiencing slowdowns, so I searched in google for a possible cause and maybe some solution.

The fact is that i found that there was a file (whose name and I don't remember) responsible of the 64mb compatibility was causing it.

I told him that he should rename the file, to prevent windows from loading it, and he did so. Yesterday he realized he still have his geforce 4 working at 32mb when he tried to start HL2 (LOL). I completly removed and reinstalled the drivers several times, but it dont seems to solve anything.

Well, my question is: does anyone knows what file could it be or what can i do??

thanks :D

Daneel Olivaw 01-15-05 07:14 AM

Re: help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!!
 
Is it an integrated video card ? (NForce2)

saturnotaku 01-15-05 09:09 AM

Re: help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by flx
Well, my question is: does anyone knows what file could it be or what can i do??

There's pretty much nothing you can do except buy a new video card. There were some manufacturers who made cards that claimed to have 64 mb of RAM but it was only done through a driver trick where they actually only had 32 mb of physical memory. If you purchase a card through a well known manufacturer (BFG, Leadtek, eVGA and others) you will not run into this problem again.

flx 01-15-05 12:10 PM

Re: help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!!
 
It's an point of view geforce 4 mx 440 64mb DDR 4x agp.

It the "32mb instead 64mb" issue is provoked by a file that was renamed (or deleted :S) if i could know the name of that file...

Daneel Olivaw 01-15-05 05:13 PM

Re: help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!!
 
how can a file change the amount of ram reported by your card bios? Check with Everest, no file can screw with everest.

flx 01-15-05 06:18 PM

Re: help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!!
 
Everest shows 32mb too. I know tha card has 64mb before, if that file was responsible of how the os handles the card, it will allways count as a 32mb. I think it's time to burn some backups and format the drive. Thanks for replying anyway ^^

Daneel Olivaw 01-16-05 08:31 PM

Re: help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!!
 
I swear a file does not handle the amount of ram the os sees.

good luck

Slyder 01-17-05 11:03 AM

Re: help! Geforce 4mx 440 64mb running at 32mb!!
 
What about when you first turn the computer on ?

Does the gfx card do a ram check ?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.