nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   GeForce 5900 Bios (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=45002)

NiceDevil 01-31-05 11:08 AM

GeForce 5900 Bios
 
hey u guys

i have big problems...

first my albatron medusa geforce 4 ti 4200P Turbo with 3.3ns BGA Ram is damaged, or?

look @ this picture

http://home.arcor.de/fod_nicedevil/hardware/Graka04.jpg

this thing is realy HOT, realy => i think it is more then 80C hot...

and first time i start 3D Mode => here World of Warcraft it looks so

http://home.arcor.de/fod_nicedevil/hardware/Graka05.jpg

=> 2 days later my windows looks the same way...

what is wrong, why is this thing so hot?


now the GeForceFX 5900 non Ultra:

i bought this graphic card for a low price in german forum but it was so cheap because the owner told us that he wanted to flash the card to 5950 Ultra.
he canceld the flash before the flash gets finished and now he has black screen after reboot...

i know that a motherboard bios chip is damage if u do things like this... but is there a chance to repair the card with blind flashing or flashing while using a pci card?

Daneel Olivaw 01-31-05 12:42 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
Quote:

flashing while using a pci card?
right on

Daneel Olivaw 01-31-05 12:45 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NiceDevil
what is wrong, why is this thing so hot?

I'd guess you can't do anyhting about it, and that it's going to die completely soon.

Maybe you could try to underclock it to like 200MHz on the core and 400 on the ram, but if it's damaged and dying, that's it. Your better off flashing the 5900 back to life.

jimmor 01-31-05 05:25 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
Hi NiceDevil,

I have the same albatron medusa geforce 4 ti 4200P Turbo with 3.3ns BGA Ram that you show in your post.

And the component you circled should be just the same as one above it with "1R0" printed on it.

My ti4200 does run very hot, just like virtually all ti4200 cards; but certainly not 80C.

And more to the point, I have mine voltmodded and running at 300/650; and using a ti4600 bios for better stabilty.

Is the fan faulty or heatsink vanes clogged up with dust, etc?

These cards rely on very good cooling. So have you also tried just pointing a high airflow fan directly at the card?


And for your 5900 problem, why not just try reflashing with a known good bios.

Flash the bios in DOS using nvflash.exe v4.41

nvflash -r (removes any protection)

nvflash -u -p -f BIOSNAME.ROM (flash new bios file)

Because of DOS filename restriction, "BIOSNAME.ROM"[/i] must have max of 8 char's in first part of filename and max of 3 char's in extender part, otherwise DOS will not recognise the command.

And if the standard flash as identified above doesn't work, then try adding the -j command switch and/or try erasing the cards bios first.

If the card doesn't work as it is, then there is nothing worse you can do to it by trying different flashing methods.

NiceDevil 02-01-05 03:22 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
hey Jimmor you know me?

i was the person that wrote german translation for bios mod an gave u best latencys i tried and ran stable on my 5900XT => that is damage because the ram heatsinks killed my card => i put them too hard on it :D

@ the time i flashed and modded bios files for fx cards i used nvflash in this way

nvflash -f 5900xt.rom -u -p => that don't work????

=> first i have to enter nvflash -r??? then the line above this???

jimmor 02-02-05 07:40 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NiceDevil
hey Jimmor you know me?

i was the person that wrote german translation for bios mod an gave u best latencys i tried and ran stable on my 5900XT => that is damage because the ram heatsinks killed my card => i put them too hard on it :D

@ the time i flashed and modded bios files for fx cards i used nvflash in this way

nvflash -f 5900xt.rom -u -p => that don't work????

=> first i have to enter nvflash -r??? then the line above this???

Hi NiceDevil,

I not only know you but I also recently browsed a website in german which showed a 59xx bios mod procedure with your name against it.

I didn't look at it in any detail so I don't really have any comment for you other than if you are happy with it then that is all that matters.

And for all flashing activity with my FX5900nu card, I have never had any problems as stated in my last post of just sticking with the following simple procedure,

Flash the bios in DOS using nvflash.exe v4.41

nvflash -r (removes any protection)

nvflash -b ORIGBIOS.ROM (saves original bios)

nvflash -u -p -f BIOSNAME.ROM (flash new bios file)

Because of DOS filename restrictions, "ORIGBIOS.ROM" and "BIOSNAME.ROM" must have max of 8 char's in first part of filename and max of 3 char's in extender part, otherwise DOS will not recognise the command.


And the command switches are supposed to come first, with the -f command being immediately before the filename of the bios.

Also as I previously posted, it is sometimes necessary to use the -j switch to force a flash on a card with a corrupt bios.

NiceDevil 02-03-05 02:16 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
so u think the 5900 is running if i flash real bios on it!

i told u that he SHUTDOWN HIS SYSTEM WHILE FLASHING TO 5950 ULTRA => HE NEVER FINISHED IT!!!

if i do such thing on mainboards, the mainboard is broken and i have to order a new bios chip!

NiceDevil 02-04-05 01:47 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
hey i got the geforce now!

i have problem i hope u can help me!

if i put it in agp slot, and i wanna boot the engine, the computer didn't start!!!
the harddrive don't start cd-rom too! what i have to do now?

i put in a PCI card and boot but BLACK SCREEN with PCI CARD and FX 5900

=> and yes i changed the boot priority to PCI first! and then AGP

i have got ASUS P4P800 biso 1020.2

jimmor 02-05-05 07:22 AM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NiceDevil
hey i got the geforce now!

i have problem i hope u can help me!

if i put it in agp slot, and i wanna boot the engine, the computer didn't start!!!
the harddrive don't start cd-rom too! what i have to do now?

i put in a PCI card and boot but BLACK SCREEN with PCI CARD and FX 5900

=> and yes i changed the boot priority to PCI first! and then AGP

i have got ASUS P4P800 biso 1020.2

What manufacturer's PCI card are you using, and do you still get a black screen with only the PCI installed ??

And also remember you could just try a DOS BLIND flash, where you put the flashing commands into the AUTOEXEC.BAT file on your booting disc.

So using nvflash v4.41, put the following into the autoexec file,

nvflash -r ( removes protection)
nvflash -i0 -j -u -p -f biosname.rom (flash AGP slot, command -i0 is actually an i plus a zero)

NiceDevil 02-05-05 10:50 AM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
the problem is my system DON'T BOOT

nothing boots with the AGP card in it

PCI card is a cyrrus logic and if i put the card in it i see everything on the screen! => if pci ist the only graphical card in it

NiceDevil 02-05-05 02:26 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
so now i tried to flash the card while i was by friend! now the computer is able to boot => don't ask me why

so i made a foto of the line where nvflash stops all the time! i tried with -i0 and all other things in front and nothing happens? nvflash broken or bios chip damaged?

http://home.arcor.de/fod_nicedevil/Bild-012.jpg

jimmor 02-06-05 06:45 PM

Re: GeForce 5900 Bios
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NiceDevil
so now i tried to flash the card while i was by friend! now the computer is able to boot => don't ask me why

so i made a foto of the line where nvflash stops all the time! i tried with -i0 and all other things in front and nothing happens? nvflash broken or bios chip damaged?

http://home.arcor.de/fod_nicedevil/Bild-012.jpg

Why are you putting command switches after the bios name ???

The correct command for flashing with nvflash v4.41 is,

nvflash -u -p -f 5900xt.rom

Whatever command switches you use, the rule is that they MUST come before the bios name; with the -f switch immediately preceding the bios name.

EDIT:

If it still wont flash with command switches in correct positions, then for the hell of it try flashing with version 5.13 of nvflash,

nvflash -r
nvflash -i0 -j -4 -5 -6 5900xt.rom

and even try wfflash bios flasher,

wfflash NM 5900xt.rom


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.