nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   MMORPGs (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=42)
-   -   Everquest II Tanking CPU (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46680)

Tzen 02-28-05 07:41 AM

Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
Just bought the Gigabye SLI board (GA-K8NXP-SLI) that uses the PCI-Express video cards. (Bought only one for now) I put the following

- AMD Socket 939 Athlon64 (3000)
- 1 Gig of the stores "high end stuff"
- GeForce 6600 GT PCI-Express (single card)
- Windows XP Pro (Fresh build with the firewall disabled)
- SATA 3 drives striped in RAID 0
- EQII

... and the CPU is MAXED at a constant 100%. Any thoughts, or possible tweeks ?? Does anyone know if the SLi dual vidoe card will improve this ??

Zelda_fan 02-28-05 07:49 AM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
From what I hear, this is normal behavior w/ EQII.

|MaguS| 02-28-05 11:07 AM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
EQ2 is very CPU bond, OC your CPU more to get better performance or lower the game settings.

Sorrow 02-28-05 11:41 AM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
Don't expect to run anything over balanced unless you're running with a a64 3200 or higher and a 9700 pro, yea I said it, 9700 pro, something with the 9700 pros that let you run at HQ with better performance than a 6800x card and a fx-57

Tzen 02-28-05 11:51 AM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
Thanks for the feedback.

So, If I bought the other 6600 GT and run SLi it would not make that much of a difference ? I should upgrade the CPU to a Athlon64 3800 you think ?

Here is somehting interesting. Decided to build a P4 3 GHz machine & strip it accross 2 drives, running the GForce 6800, and WOW what a difference in performance! I find that very odd, a P4 out performing a A64 3000????

|MaguS| 02-28-05 12:03 PM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
the AMD64 3000 is only 1.8ghz... of course a 3GHZ P4 will beat it. If you OC your CPU to atleast 2.2 or so you should see a huge boost.

SLi is practically useless in EQ2 currently, drivers barely support it and the 6600GT is just slightly faster then a 6800GT, Just get a 6800GT and OC it to Ultra and play the game smooth.

I would recommend a X800 series card for EQ2 though, they seem to be handling the game better currently till Nvidia gets off thier asses and make good drivers...

Ghosthunter 02-28-05 12:28 PM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
CPU is always 100%...it was like this in EQ1 and same in EQ2

btw i have the 6800GT and it runs EQ2 great.

|MaguS| 02-28-05 12:36 PM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
Mine does also but MANY people have reported problems with the 6x00 series in EQ2. It's mainly driver side, main reason I recommended the ATI Series, they always seemed to run EQ games better.

Sorrow 02-28-05 12:37 PM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by egbtmagus
the AMD64 3000 is only 1.8ghz... of course a 3GHZ P4 will beat it. If you OC your CPU to atleast 2.2 or so you should see a huge boost.


No...a64 is 2ghz if you get the Newcastle core....and no, a 3ghz p4 WON'T beat it because it's only 32 bit and doesn't run at full speed. a64 3000+ runs at full speed therefore acting like a 3ghz processor, while at the same time running in 64 bit as compared to 32 bit.

|MaguS| 02-28-05 12:47 PM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
The AMD64 doesn't run at 64bit unless the software and the OS are 64bit which neither EQ2 and Windows (yes thier is a beta but without EQ2 being 64bit it wouldnt help) are...

Were both right about the AMD64 :p He never stated which core he has, hehe...

J-Mag 02-28-05 01:07 PM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sorrow
No...a64 is 2ghz if you get the Newcastle core....and no, a 3ghz p4 WON'T beat it because it's only 32 bit and doesn't run at full speed. a64 3000+ runs at full speed therefore acting like a 3ghz processor, while at the same time running in 64 bit as compared to 32 bit.

Corrections:

NewCastles are 2.2ghz (3500+) and 2.4ghz (3800+) in 939 pin...

Either Newcastle will completely smoke a p4 3ghz in any Game and has NOTHING to do with 32bit / 64bit b/c there is only one game I know of that is even coded to use 64bit registers and even then you have to be running the RC of Win XP 64bit version. Also, both processors (Intel and AMD) will run at full speed unless overheating or not under load.

The main reasons why a64's beat out intel chips is a more efficient pipeline and an ondie memory controller.

Sorrow 02-28-05 01:32 PM

Re: Everquest II Tanking CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by J-Mag
Corrections:

NewCastles are 2.2ghz (3500+) and 2.4ghz (3800+) in 939 pin...

Either Newcastle will completely smoke a p4 3ghz in any Game and has NOTHING to do with 32bit / 64bit b/c there is only one game I know of that is even coded to use 64bit registers and even then you have to be running the RC of Win XP 64bit version. Also, both processors (Intel and AMD) will run at full speed unless overheating or not under load.

The main reasons why a64's beat out intel chips is a more efficient pipeline and an ondie memory controller.

Plus a64's run at full speed whereas p4's run at maybe half ( i think that's what they run at) meaning a64 will make more passes like he said.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.