nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=48094)

dazed343 03-22-05 11:50 PM

BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
BFG makes a 5500 128mb OC card that I was thinking about picking up for my dad instead of the 5200 he was set on. Thing is I don't want him to get a 64bit card and although I know most 5500's are 128bit mem, this BFG card only has 4 mem chips in an I shap not the L that's usually 128bit. So... does anyone know off hand if this card is in fact a 128bit mem? Thanks in advance.

Copper214 03-23-05 08:46 AM

Re: BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dazed343
BFG makes a 5500 128mb OC card that I was thinking about picking up for my dad instead of the 5200 he was set on. Thing is I don't want him to get a 64bit card and although I know most 5500's are 128bit mem, this BFG card only has 4 mem chips in an I shap not the L that's usually 128bit. So... does anyone know off hand if this card is in fact a 128bit mem? Thanks in advance.

Just wondering why your getting him so alowend card, I figure he's not a gamer and if not a 5500 is not a real upgrade from a 5200, Just wasteing money, Save a little more money if need be and move up to a 6600 or 6800. And do a little research if money is tight and maybe get a Ati card, there are a lot of good cheap cards out there now.

Well good luck with whatever you decide!!! :eek:

Daneel Olivaw 03-23-05 09:45 AM

Re: BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
64bit, it's identical to a 5200 64bit.

dazed343 03-23-05 10:11 AM

Re: BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
Well that sucks... Its hard to tell now which 5500 and 5200's have 128bit mem. 99% of the manufactures don't post the mem specs but then I guess they don't want you knowing its 64bit. Do you know of any cards 5500 or 5200 that are 128bit?

Daneel Olivaw 03-23-05 10:23 AM

Re: BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
I was convinced the PNY I bought for my GF was 128bit, but then when I tested it wasn't. I'm starting to think that all newer revisions are 64bit. Even the 5700LE is 64 bit it seems.

Sorry, I can't help you. As for the BFG 5500oc 128, well, we sell the 256mb version here at staples, and its 64 bit.

I just bought an old GF4 MX440, that one is 128bit! (for 22 CAN$)

Mehbody 03-23-05 10:36 AM

Re: BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dazed343
Well that sucks... Its hard to tell now which 5500 and 5200's have 128bit mem. 99% of the manufactures don't post the mem specs but then I guess they don't want you knowing its 64bit. Do you know of any cards 5500 or 5200 that are 128bit?

You could take a rare chance that [place favorite auction website here] has the 128-bit versions (I don't know who makes them specifically). Always ask if the person could run Rivatuner (or similar) to see if it's 64/128-bit first.. could get lied to, you never know.

(I did that with my Ti4200, and a friend did the same with his FX5xxx (700LE? I don't care now..) too, IIRC)

Daneel Olivaw 03-23-05 11:14 AM

Re: BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
well, the ti4200 was a safe bet...

Mehbody 03-23-05 11:36 AM

Re: BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Daneel Olivaw
well, the ti4200 was a safe bet...

...but my friend's FX5700LE wasn't ;) Just looked at the card, and sure enough it's 64-bit. He was actually looking for one.. he likes to collect strange things, this probably be the most normal of his collections..

Daneel Olivaw 03-23-05 03:19 PM

Re: BFG 5500 128mb OC 128bit or 64bit?
 
The current amo9unt of varieties of GF FX sub 5700 Non Ultra is annoying and depressing... and they're all close performers... Damn those card makers! :(


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.