nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=48462)

mlfarrell 03-30-05 04:33 PM

Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
Hello,

I'm having a slight issue with the linux nvidia driver (1.0-7167) when I have the card connected to my tv via the tv-out port.

Everything works great inside of the X server (and even the framebuffer whiel booting up) until I switch back to the console framebuffer after having been inside of the X server. When I do this, the system stays inside of textmode and prints blinking garbage characters to the screen. Is there any way I can fix this?

Linux darkbox 2.6.8-24-smp
Suse 9.2
Framebuffer 1024x768x60hz - 16-bpp
XServer (tv mode) 800x600x60hz - 24bpp

silentplummet 03-30-05 05:16 PM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
No. This bug has been known for ages and no one can (and NVIDIA refuses to) do anything about it. I don't even use framebuffer or TV-out and I have the same problem regardless.

Edit: I take that back, there is one thing you can do. File yet another bug report and get a canned response back from the tech team.

swedster 04-05-05 06:48 AM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
I've had that problems on the computer I had before this one.
I used Nvidia Geoforce 4200 Titan and Tv-out.
I also had blinking blocks instead of text when logging out of X, among other problems.
My solution on that computer was to use nvidia driver prior to v4363 (April 2003), and kernel 2.4.x. Then everything worked fine.

Now however, on my new computer, the problem is back.
Now my card is a Gainward Geoforce 5700 LE, and X won't even start with the v4363 nvidia driver, but works with newest drivers, with the graphic bugs back.

Maybe time that Nvidia make something about these conflicts with Vesa drivers? :thumbdwn:

Ps. The Xconf I use and have been using is... http://83.253.92.101/xorg.conf on Slackware 10.0.

ElChef 04-05-05 10:42 AM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
Same problem with nVidia driver 1.0-7174, I think I don't have this problem with 6629 driver but I can't get 1024x768 TV-Out with 6629 but I can with 7174. Needed new driver release? Test other configuration?

silentplummet 04-05-05 12:19 PM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
It may be tin-foil hat stuff but I personally believe the impetus is to discourage all use of the vt's whatsoever.

The NVidia driver makes it so costly (stability, reboots, TIME) to switch to any of the vt's or kill and restart X that it begins, little by little, to feel just like MS Windows all over again.

mildred 04-05-05 04:48 PM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
I have the samer problem when I try to use framebuffer. So, I'm forced to have a very low resolution for text mode.
Why NVidia doesn't want to fix that ?

ElChef 04-17-05 04:16 AM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
Well seems the solution si to specify in the lilo.conf the resolution of the framebuffer, wich has to be the same that the X, I mean, yo should put in lilo.conf this line:
Code:

vga=775
Where 775 depens on the resolution of the X

Code:

Colors        640x480        800x600        1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
256          769          771          773            775              796       
32.768          784    787      790      793      797
65.536          785    788      791      794      798
16.8M          786    789      792      795      799


bednar 11-07-05 02:25 AM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
the vga=775 works for me. I had same problem. It seems that not all mode allowed in X will work in console framebuffer but this one works. It gives 1280x1024 in 256 colors.

Thanks

Bednar

Darkvater 11-07-05 04:16 AM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
What would you change in the case of a grub bootloader?
I am not a linux guru and don't really know where to put it. I have a grub.conf in /etc with

Code:

setup --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 (hd0) (hd0,4)
quit

Do I put it before quit, or after or not in this file at all?

bednar 11-07-05 04:21 AM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
I only added vga=775 to other options of kernel in my grub configuration (it is
/boot/grub/menu.lst file). Below is its contents:

color white/blue black/light-gray
default
timeout 8
gfxmenu (hd0,1)/boot/message

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
title SUSE LINUX 10.0
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 selinux=0 vga=775 resume=/dev/hda3 splash=silent showopts
initrd /boot/initrd


###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
title Windows
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
title Dyskietka
root (fd0)
chainloader +1

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
title Bezpieczne -- SUSE LINUX 10.0
root (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda2 vga=normal showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off noresume selinux
=0 nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 edd=off 3
initrd /boot/initrd

bednar 11-16-05 02:17 AM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
Unfortunately this only works sometimes it is when I hav unplugged TVout cable to my TVset.
After plugging in TVout cable the highest resolution which is valid is still 800x600. After vga=755 system says that this mode is unaccesible, so I have to choose lower one.

Bednar

Darkvater 11-16-05 12:02 PM

Re: Nvidia tv-out + console framebuffer
 
Thanks bednar, I added it to the file but it didn't help. Will try 795 next; perhaps that's better than 775.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.