nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   GF4 Ti 4200 does not work with SuSE 8.0 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=4950)

Andre 12-10-02 10:41 AM

GF4 Ti 4200 does not work with SuSE 8.0
 
Hello,

OS is SuSE 8.0:

I have a problem with my card,
a GF4 (4200 Ti) , 128 MB .

The computer is brand new and so is my
Linux installation.
I installed Nvidia's RPMs for SuSE 8.0
kernel and glx)from the command line,
X-server not running.

No complaints during installation with "rpm -ivh xxx" (all according to Nvidia's installation instruction).

I used the X-Config program "sax2" to configure the display. I set it to 1024-768, 16,7 million
colors, 85 Hz V-sync. I chose the correct Nvidia
graphic card and activated the glx-option in
the 3D-properties. I did not play with any
expert-options in sax2.
The monitor can handle the resolution and frequencies. I also have Window-XP running on the
same disk and there everything works fine.

When I then try to test the X-server the monitor
becomes black and stays like that.
The system freezes.
The same when I just save the X-configuration
and start the X-server by runlevel 5 i.e.
The only choice I then have is to power off.

When I press CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE the system
powers off immediately.
When I use the card setting "VESA, 1024x768, 85 Hz" all is OK and at least I can use a GUI.

I don't know what is wrong.
I trusted in sax2 and did not try to find an
error in the X-configuration file.
Maybe I should, but what should I search for?

bwkaz 12-10-02 12:16 PM

Is there anything relevant in /var/log/XFree86.0.log after one of these system freezes? That log file gets overwritten every time you start up X, though, so I'd say try to boot to runlevel 3 (text-mode login), and just startx from there. If it doesn't work, boot to runlevel 3 again, copy the log file to somewhere useful, make the changes you need to make to get a working system, and post the copy of the log file.

There may not even be anything useful in it, but it's possible.

Andre 12-11-02 02:36 AM

Hi, bwkaz,

Thanks for the tip, I will try and let you know.
So far, booting to runlevel 3 and doing a "startx"
crashes the systems.
Default window manager is kde.
I will check out what's happening with "startx twm".

bwkaz 12-11-02 08:00 AM

I think I remember someone saying recently that sax2 does in fact cause problems... might be worth looking into, anyway. Or post the XF86Config(-4 if it exists) file and someone can take a look at it.

Andre 01-09-03 09:49 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Hello bwkaz,

My problem still persists!

I promised to get back to you.
So, here is what I found out:

First of all I had the wrong driver at Mid-December 2002.
I learned that from this forum about two weeks after my initial post.
Then I removed the two old nvidia RPMs
(1.0-3123) and installed the two 1.0-4191 RPMs.
Those support 8x AGP cards which I do have.

After studying the driver's manual I set the
following options:

1.)
in /etc/X11/XF86Config:
...
Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AllowMouseOpenFail"
Option "NvAgp" "1" <---- this line
EndSection
...

2.)
in /etc/modules.conf:
...
################################################## ######################
# AGP
################################################## ######################

# Andre, 22122002
#pre-install mga /sbin/modprobe "-k" "agpgart"
#pre-install r128 /sbin/modprobe "-k" "agpgart"
#pre-install radeon /sbin/modprobe "-k" "agpgart"
#options agpgart agp_try_unsupported=1
options nvidia NVreg_ReqAGPRate=8 <--- this line

--- end of modifications

Anyway, when I start X from runlevel 3 I can see
that the X-server is trying to start up but one
second later the monitor becomes black again.
Nothing else is happening, it stays black until
I press <CTRL><ALT><DELETE> on the keyboard
and let the PC shut down.

The X-server log file /var/log/XFree86.0.log
does not complain, all seems to be well:
...
[31] 0 0x000003b0 - 0x000003bb (0xc) IS[b](OprU)
[32] 0 0x000003c0 - 0x000003df (0x20) IS[b](OprU)

(II) NVIDIA(0): AGP 8X successfully initialized
(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "1024x768"
-- end of /var/log/XFree86.0.log --

So, what is wrong?
Do you have any idea?

I will post four files:
1.) /etc/X11/XF86Config
2.) /etc/modules.conf
3.) $HOME/.X.err
4.) /var/log/XFree86.0.log

bwkaz 01-09-03 10:46 AM

Hmm... I have no good ideas. :(

Does setting ReqAGPRate to 4 help maybe? Run depmod -a and reboot (or just make SURE the module is unloaded before you try starting X again) after you change modules.conf, of course.

Which AGP chipset is this?

Andre 01-09-03 11:04 AM

I check out whether "options nvidia NVreg_ReqAGPRate=4" makes any difference.

The chipset is "SiS 648 NorthBridge and 963 SouthBridge".

Thanks for replying.

ribelles 01-10-03 04:50 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Andre
I check out whether "options nvidia NVreg_ReqAGPRate=4" makes any difference.

The chipset is "SiS 648 NorthBridge and 963 SouthBridge".

Thanks for replying.

I installed Nvidia's RPMs (4191) for SuSE 8.1 and I get a black screen too. My computer has a Quadro 2 pro. The end of the log file /var/log/XFree86.log:

(II) NVIDIA(0): AGP 4X successfully initialized
(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "1600x1200"

However, I previously had installed SuSE 7.3 with the same driver (nvidia-4191) and it works fine. I got the black screen after updating to SuSE 8.1. I don't know how to solve it.

michael 01-10-03 05:10 AM

Hello,

your describing exactly the same problem that I have too.

My config :

ASUS Athlon Dual Board 2*MP
TI4200
SUSE 8.1 with 2.4.19.SUSE compiled for ATHLON SMP

I have tried the RPM's and the SRPM's. When switching from the

"nv" driver to "nvidia" the screen turns black and you'll have to reboot the machine with ctrl-alt-del.

Since mid december I am struggling with that. Today I will try it with a new monitor that has better frequency range.

Of yource if that is the reason I will post it.

Michael

Andre 01-10-03 06:44 AM

Especially to "ribelles" and "michael".

Someone assumes that my X server hangs when
trying to set the modes.
He wants me to deactivate AGP by
setting: Option "NvAgp" "0"
in /etc/X11/XF86Config .

I have not tried that, yet, so I can't tell
whether this helps or not.

michael 01-10-03 08:23 AM

Kevin L. Dupree sended me his config that looks like this (basically). I'll give it a try this afternoon

Section "Device"
Identifier "Custom Video Card"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "GLcore"
Load "bitmap"
Load "dbe"
Load "ddc"
Load "dri"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "record"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
EndSection

....

Maybe we could stick on this thread until the $&&%/ Problem is solved. I think a lot of people do have problems with suse 8.x and TI4200 and the new driver.

Greetings

Michael

ribelles 01-13-03 07:54 AM

Warsage said
 
Warsage said:

"Alright guys, I solved the problem, thanks mostly to the forums here. It seems that "Assign IRQ to PCI VGA" must be enabled and "PnP OS" must be disabled in order for the drivers to work. These settings can be found in the system BIOS."

Could someone do it?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.