nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Stupid question about GeForce Ti4200... (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=49631)

DoomUK 04-24-05 01:02 PM

Stupid question about GeForce Ti4200...
 
Well, a couple of stupid questions actually, some stuff I want to clear my mind of:-

My friend has a GeForce Ti4200 (128MB). His Mobo (Gigabyte... can't remember the model of the top of my head) only supports AGP 4x, but if I'm right the Ti4*** series are AGP 8x- am I right here?

Next question: His Forceware drivers (he's using 71.89) point out that his GPU is in fact a Quadro XGL... Did the older versions of the Quadro come at a much lower price than the current FX 4*** line do (i.e over 1,500)?

Here's the really, really newbie-ish question: Does his card support DirectX 9.0x? He has a few issues with certain games, in particular MoH Allied Assault, where none of the game's textures show up and all you can see is a yellow 'wireframe' around everything... lots of weird stuff. The point is, I've questioned whether his card his even 9.0 compatible... something I should probably already know (but I'm too lasy to browse through Wikipedia :o). OR: Is it the fact that he's using a Quadro affect the games? I've heard of people running games just fine on workstation graphics cards before, but in his case this could be the issue...


Thanks.

CaptNKILL 04-24-05 01:44 PM

Re: Stupid question about GeForce Ti4200...
 
1: The Ti4200 is AGP 4x only. The Ti4800 that was released as a refresh was the 8x version.

2: Im not sure about Quadro cards... it might be a driver bug thats detecting it that way.

3: The card (actually the drivers) supports directx 9. The 4200 will only do directx 8 pixel shaders and effects, but it will run with directx 9 just fine as long as you use up to date drivers. Also, MOHAA isnt directX9, so that deffinitely isnt the problem.

Im a bit confused as to the whole Quadro\4200 thing, so you may want to try different drivers to get that straightened out first. Take out his card and varify that it is a 4200 or a Quadro, then try to get the drivers to install the correct ones. After that, we can work on the game issues.

EDIT: Before you do anything, uninstall the Nvidia drivers through add\remove programs, then use Driver Cleaner (preferebly in safe mode) to clean out nvidia drivers and then restart and reinstall the drivers.

Grechie 04-26-05 12:40 AM

Re: Stupid question about GeForce Ti4200...
 
actually they made a Ti4200 AGP 8X, i used to have one :)

einstein_314 04-26-05 12:44 AM

Re: Stupid question about GeForce Ti4200...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Grechie
actually they made a Ti4200 AGP 8X, i used to have one :)

What he said....except I didn't have one... :rolleyes:

simonuk 04-26-05 04:50 PM

Re: Stupid question about GeForce Ti4200...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
1: The Ti4200 is AGP 4x only. The Ti4800 that was released as a refresh was the 8x version.

You made abit of a mistake because:-

nvidia geforce4 range specifications

I have actually owned three of the Ti4200 agp 8x, msi gf4 ti4200 vtd8x, inno3d gf4 ti4200 8x and gainward gf4 ti4200 8x golden sample. My all time fav video card is the msi gf4 ti4200 vtd8x! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.