nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   mandrake 9 Nvidia driver Install (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=4977)

=Super_n00b= 12-10-02 09:56 PM

mandrake 9 Nvidia driver Install

Can i please get some HELP ? :confused:

Im very new to mandrake/Linux. Im using Mandrake 9, Can someone please help me to install nvidia Drivers onto my system i have an AMD 2000+XP, 512 meg DDR, Abit Kg-7 mobo and GeForce 4 Ti4600. i have read Tons of Tech Forum posts but i need a Learners guide "10 years of windows use" if anyone would be kind enough to help :confused:

When i tried to install the tar.gz i get this error

"You appear to be compiling the NVdriver kernel module with
a compiler different from the one that was used to compile
the running kernel. This may be perfectly fine, but there
are cases where this can lead to unexpected behaviour and
system crashes.

If you know what you are doing and want to override this
check, you can do so by setting IGNORE_CC_MISMATCH.

In any other case, set the CC environment variable to the
name of the compiler that was used to compile the kernel.

*** Failed cc sanity check. Bailing out! ***
make: *** [gcc-check] Error 1"

Thanks

Super.

bwkaz 12-11-02 07:38 AM

What do cat /proc/version, echo $CC, $CC -v, and cc -v tell you?

You probably need to install a compiler (in which case this is not a very good error message -- but it is possible that that's what happened anyway), but seeing what these print (if anything -- the echo $CC one might not do anything, in which case the $CC -v isn't useful) will confirm or deny that.

=Super_n00b= 12-11-02 09:03 AM

Only thing i get is this ....

"[root@LinuXTesT craig]# cat /proc/version
Linux version 2.4.19-16mdk (quintela@bi.mandrakesoft.com) (gcc version 3.2 (Mandrake Linux 9.0 3.2-1mdk)) #1 Fri Sep 20 18:15:05 CEST 2002 ?

bwkaz 12-11-02 12:42 PM