nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Linux, GeForce4, TV-Output blurry (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=5063)

PerfectApproach 12-12-02 12:06 PM

Linux, GeForce4, TV-Output blurry
 
I'm new to the whole Linux biz. I have a custom-built machine, that I'm multi-booting Win98/XP/Mandrake9 on, and I have the TV set as the default display for all OS's (its a killer setup, really, big screen HD TV, the works).

After jumping through all the appropriate hoops to get Linux and the nVidia GeForce 4 MX 420 (no laughing) to get along, I have discovered that the TV-output in Linux is CONSIDERABLY more blurry than in either Windows installation.

I suspect that there might be 2 problems, but I'm not enough of an expert to figure out which one it is. Either XFree86 is implementing some kind of full-scene anti-aliasing on the desktop (can it happen?), or the "flicker filter" function available to Windows users is misadjusted in Linux, and I haven't figured out how to re-adjust it. Anyone else having problems with blurry TV output in Linux with a GF4 card? :confused:

W3ap0nX 12-12-02 09:44 PM

When I was running Windows I bought a small utility which did wonders, called TVTool (http://www.tvtool.info/). When I switched to Linux, I was certain I would have to live without all the goodies that TVTool allowed. But -- surprise, surprise ;) -- I found out about a project which offered more or less the same functionality, if maybe in a slightly less polished package. Have a look at http://sourceforge.net/projects/nv-tv-out/, install it and play around with it, you might just find the right settings.

Good luck! :)

PerfectApproach 12-13-02 10:12 AM

Thanks. I had actually seen an ad earlier for this tool, and I will be trying the Linux tool to see if this will resolve it.

I was actually hoping there was native driver support for this feature in Linux though, perhaps some settings that are not specified in the readme's or FAQ's. Maybe a line that I can pop into one of the config files and everything will magically work.

Anyone know of any such magic? :D

ant 12-13-02 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by W3ap0nX
When I was running Windows I bought a small utility which did wonders, called TVTool (http://www.tvtool.info/). When I switched to Linux, I was certain I would have to live without all the goodies that TVTool allowed. But -- surprise, surprise ;) -- I found out about a project which offered more or less the same functionality, if maybe in a slightly less polished package. Have a look at http://sourceforge.net/projects/nv-tv-out/, install it and play around with it, you might just find the right settings.

Good luck! :)

I could never get nv-tv-out to work with my Leadtek GeForce4 Ti 4200. From what I read, this series is not supported yet. :(

PerfectApproach 12-13-02 04:49 PM

Once more into the breech...
 
Ok, I'm gonna give this nv-tv-thingy a try. Its probably too late to solicit a response, cause this happening tonight, but just for documentation purposes, has there ever been a software conflict consideration with respect to the nVidia drivers themselves? I'd hate to install this neat little doo-hickey on my machine and then suddenly see fireworks on my TV.

If anyone has the nVidia drivers installed, AND has this tv-output config thing installed, and it actually works for them, I could use the advice.

PerfectApproach 01-07-03 09:28 PM

Well...I installed the nv-tv-out tool. It doesn't do much. In fact, it doesn't do anything at all. It doesn't detect my tv-encoder. For that matter, I can't detect it either. Every indication I have seen is that the encoder has been integrated into the GPU. How much does that suck??

There's lots of talk of the Brooktree encoder and the C-something encoder or whatever...well, mine's inside the damn GPU! So its an nVidia encoder! Does anyone know how to make nv-tv-out work with the cheap-ass GF4 chipsets? I wish I knew C++ so I could do it myself. :(

ant 01-07-03 10:23 PM

Try YANC
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PerfectApproach
Well...I installed the nv-tv-out tool. It doesn't do much. In fact, it doesn't do anything at all. It doesn't detect my tv-encoder. For that matter, I can't detect it either. Every indication I have seen is that the encoder has been integrated into the GPU. How much does that suck??

There's lots of talk of the Brooktree encoder and the C-something encoder or whatever...well, mine's inside the damn GPU! So its an nVidia encoder! Does anyone know how to make nv-tv-out work with the cheap-ass GF4 chipsets? I wish I knew C++ so I could do it myself. :(

YANC -- http://yanc.sourceforge.net/

I like it. Too bad I still have to restart X server to apply changes like TwinView.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.