nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   MMORPGs (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=42)
-   -   WHat CPU (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=51312)

mcolbourn 05-31-05 07:05 AM

WHat CPU
 
Guys you can see from my sig what I have got. I am currently playing a lot of WOW and am still trying to decided what to upgare to do I just go out and but a 3700+ for my current setup or get a 939 and a 3500+ ( it will need to be an AGP I guess NF3). I know the second option is more expensive so I need to make sure that the upgrade will show results.

ChrisRay 05-31-05 07:07 AM

Re: WHat CPU
 
Why are you upgrading your processor for WoW? The difference will be negligable at your performance level. My second computer plays WoW great @ 1280x960(Monitor limitation for decent refresh) @ 4xAA/16xAF @ a steady 75 + FPS.

mcolbourn 05-31-05 10:18 AM

Re: WHat CPU
 
Well its also for CS:S, I am also limited to 1280*1024 btw.

jAkUp 05-31-05 10:25 AM

Re: WHat CPU
 
Go 939 and pick up a venice 3700 :)

Sideshow 05-31-05 11:32 AM

Re: WHat CPU
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChrisRay
Why are you upgrading your processor for WoW? The difference will be negligable at your performance level. My second computer plays WoW great @ 1280x960(Monitor limitation for decent refresh) @ 4xAA/16xAF @ a steady 75 + FPS.

Somehow i find that very hard to belive. I too have a barton 3200+ in my rig and the fps is far from 75+, more like 35 on avarage.

And I got anandtech and gamespot backing me up on this one.
Anand
Gamespot

|MaguS| 05-31-05 11:50 AM

Re: WHat CPU
 
Yeah me too. I run the game at 1280x1024 @ 4AA (ingame)/8AF(CP) (max possible ingame settings) with a FPS around 30~40 but not 75+, I play in the 3rd person so thats why its low, If I play in First Person I can stay around 40~50, indoors I shoot up to 85 (vsync on).

superklye 05-31-05 11:55 AM

Re: WHat CPU
 
When I had the game, my 2600+ (OCed to 2.2GHz) and 6800GT got me 75+ FPS @ 1280x1024 w/4xAA and 16xAF.

anzak 05-31-05 12:32 PM

Re: WHat CPU
 
No one has a steady framerate in WoW. I play with vsync enabled so its capped at 85 @ 1600x1200. This is the performance difference in different areas.

Barrens or Badlands: 85fps
ashenvale: 40fps
small towns (like brill or goldshire): 70fps
Orgrimmar or IF: 30fps at best
Grom'gol area: 17fps at best :eek:

This is just some of the performance numbers I remember. What im trying to say is that you cant state an average fps for WoW because it varies so much by your location.

I play at 1600x1200 w/ 4xAA and 16xAF because im totally CPU limited up till that.

Tr1cK 05-31-05 10:56 PM

Re: WHat CPU
 
Going from my NF2 TBred 2.2ghz to NF3 Winch 2.5ghz I have a noticed a HUGE difference. Im not sure, but I would def bet the memory bandwidth has a lot to do with it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.