nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   help with screen resolution please (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=53296)

/\/\r.Abdul 07-09-05 07:33 AM

help with screen resolution please
 
ok hi i guys i need some help with editing my xorg.conf file(or what ever else is needed) to run the right refresh rates and resolutions.

my moniter can run:
1024*768 @ 85hz
1152*864 @ 75hz
1280*1024 @ 60hz

but the only options i have are 1024*768 @ 70hz and 1280*1024 @ 60hz :( .

can somone please tell what to do because i really want 1152*864 @ 75hz working...mainly because anything below 75hz CAINS my eyes.(also im used to 1152*864)

Cheers, Abdul

a7v 07-09-05 07:58 AM

Re: help with screen resolution please
 
I haven't fiddled with X.org but Xfree86 could figure out the lower resolutions if you only defined the highest resolution. (Well it worked most of the time.) So the correct way should be to say that 1280x1024@60 is the highest your monitor can handle when you set up X.org (or Xfree86) with the proper tool. That should set the correct values for HorizSync and VertRefresh in your X.org.conf. Then it would only be a matter of adding "1152x864" as the maximum mode you'd like to use. (as you clearly didn't want to use 1280x1024@60)

What distro are you using btw?

/\/\r.Abdul 07-09-05 08:05 AM

Re: help with screen resolution please
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by a7v
I haven't fiddled with X.org but Xfree86 could figure out the lower resolutions if you only defined the highest resolution. (Well it worked most of the time.) So the correct way should be to say that 1280x1024@60 is the highest your monitor can handle when you set up X.org (or Xfree86) with the proper tool. That should set the correct values for HorizSync and VertRefresh in your X.org.conf. Then it would only be a matter of adding "1152x864" as the maximum mode you'd like to use. (as you clearly didn't want to use 1280x1024@60)

What distro are you using btw?

oh i forgot to to say i am using Slackware 10.1, i did define the highest at 1280*864 @ 60 me thinks i know what i gotta do though. ill try it and get back here.

/\/\r.Abdul 07-09-05 08:24 AM

Re: help with screen resolution please
 
ok i fixed it my max horizontel syc was set to 64.3 for some reason and i changed it to 71 and BAM all my resolutions fixed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.